We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perrrrrrrrrrrrfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Triple Play Rate
Ranked #4 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Perrrrrrrrrrrrfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visited the Thompson Chicago after a long wait until the upgrade was finished! More than words could say about this hallmark hotel! From the moment you arrive, and the the outstanding staff greets you, to the excellence you find when you enter your room---THIS IS IT!! Cannot wait until the restaurant opens in December! A safe, secure, comfortable place to park after holiday shopping!

Room Tip: The Thompson offers rooms with "Family Friendly" artwork, if that is what you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    136
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
128
338
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Thompson Chicago twice now. The property is a gorgeous update of an older hotel, but you would never know that it isn't brand new. It is fantastic!

The hotel's location is wonderful. It is situation among Chicago's most diverse restaurants. The Tavern on Rush is just steps from the front door, as is Gibson's. Both are Chicago legends.

The front desk staff are friendly and always say hello.

I will be back!

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have a "view" of much. It is in Chicago's miracle mile/gold coa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked a king suite for a 3 day stay. Nice, quiet corner room with fab view! Service was terrific. Room was beautiful - USB chargers, free (but slow) internet, super comfy bed and crisp linens, great bathtub, great toiletries, comp morning NY Times, comp shoe shine at night. No rubbish can in main room, no music option, sink drain got stuck and wouldn't drain water, curved sofa cute, but not comfortable (especially to nap on), no bottled water in room (even though they were promoting the comp water), mini bar not ready. Fitness room was nice to work off those duck fat french fries and chicago hot dogs. Comp coffee in the lobby in the AM.
All in all a great stay, but I'm not sure I would pay rack rate for this room (but then again, I never pay retail for anything)

Room Tip: Corner suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On the corner of Bellevue and Rush. If one is not familiar with Rush St - it is thee "in area". The best restaurants, bars, feet from the lake and shopping. The hotel is first class, very cool design, and the best, friendliest staff. I have stayed in a lot of good Chicago hotels. This is my favorite.

Room Tip: I was put on the 18th floor. Great view with no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This may be my new favorite boutique hotel in Chicago for its fabulous Gold Coast location and professional and enthusiastic staff. Newly renovated with a hip, yet comfortable vibe, the rooms are well-appointed, comfortable, and very quiet. The location between Michigan Ave. and State St. can't be beat. You're a short walk to Water Tower Place, Oak Street Beach, Rush Street, and designer boutiques along Oak Street. The Museum of Contemporary Art is an easy walk, but you'll want to take a taxi or bus down Michigan Ave, to get to The Art Institute. (It was just a $10 (with tip) taxi ride to the Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, and Museum of Science & Industry.) If you need a ride in the morning or evening, the complimentary shuttle will bring you to your destination (within a certain range). As good as the location is, the quality of the staff is even better. Everyone went out of their way to make our visit comfortable and enjoyable. I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The new Thompson- Chicago is a wonderful addition to Chicago's reputation for great hotels.
I grew up in the suburbs and live in the Bay Area now. My husband and I were in town visiting family and friends and decided to stay in the city. We loved this hotel. The service was friendly and willing to help with all our travel needs. The location was primo as we walked everywhere.
The lobby is beautiful with a touch of home in the design. The restaurant is not finished yet but I look forward to going back at some point and checking that out as well.
I have stayed in Thompson hotels in different cities and this is definitely a refined with details well thought out.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view. They're fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just came back from a great weekend in Chicago. The room was very modern clean and comfortable, the rainhead shower being a highlight. The best part about the hotel though was the thoughtful and fantastic service by the staff. From the front desk to the concierge to the doormen, everyone really did their best to make for an excellent stay. Everyone was very knowledgeable about attractions, restaurants and areas as well as being easy going and fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.