We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goose Island Clybourn Brewpub

Goose Island Clybourn Brewpub
1800 N Clybourn, Chicago, IL 60614-4939
3129150071
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goose Island Clybourn Brewpub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #670 of 8,392 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Willow/Sheffield Ave.
Transit: Red Line - North Avenue Brown Line - Armitage
Description: Since 1988, Goose Island has consistently brewed Chicago's finest hand crafted ales and lagers. Goose Island brings together award-winning beer with outstanding lunches and dinner selections. Try our famous Stilton burger with a seasonal beer! Private party rooms are perfect for corporate events or casual parties.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“So Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food is great. The service, not so much. Food--my hubby for a 2nd time ordered the fabulous fish and chips and was not disappointed. I had the stuffed pretzel with jalapeno and cheese. I've had better. Then I had their soup of the day--pumpkin and red pepper (I think). It was okay. We sat at the bar. They were really busy, so maybe that is why they weren't that friendly???? They still should be. Go for the beer and food. Not for the speed of service or friendliness. Beer is AWESOME!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    51
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great appetizers, hit-or-miss dinner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My coworkers and I went here for dinner and ordered several appetizers - a meat plate that was delicious, and a cheese plate that I wish I would have ordered for my dinner! I had the fish and chips -- the fish was overdone, but the fries were great. One of the people at my table ordered what looked like a great salad. Someone else ordered a burger and said it was overcooked. Maybe it was difficult to cook for a large group of 9. The beer, however, was fantastic! The staff were very attentive and made suggestions for us. It was not expensive, so we didn't feel that all was lost.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Nebraska
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The food was awesome. The selection of beers was also great. Try the Extremely Naughty Goose! The sweet potato fries with the curry ketchup was also great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious, Huge Lunch - Tour Disappointing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Arrived at Brewery about an hour before our scheduled tour ($10 pp), so decided to have lunch. We each had a beer (Willow Wit and Dunkelweisen or something like that - tasted like bananas and coffee) which were very enjoyable, and then shared the pumpernickel and stilton burger, the duck flatbread, and the poached pear salad. Misjudged the meaning of small plate - this was a lot of food for two people (we cancelled our dinner reservation that evening because we were still full). The salad and burger were excellent, but the flatbread was a little disappointing - dry...not in an overcooked way, but rather like it was just missing a sauce, we both thought a cranberry mustard or a carmelized onion drizzle would have helped immensely. The tour was very disappointing - the group was too big, and by tour, they take you into a room filled with tanks and talk at you about beer making for 30-40 minutes. It was very informative and interesting information, but could have just as easily been done in the tasting room - which would have been quieter and therefore better for all, because if you were at the back of the group, you couldn't hear a word being said. The tasting side did make up for the disappointing tour - 6 beers selected by the tour guide that day, which means if you do this several times, you may never taste the same 6. and the souvenir glass was a nice addition and seems to be good quality. Tour and tasting lasted an hour total, which was a good amount of time. We had fun and will recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love beer? Gotta go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is one of our favorite places - the best local brew that you can't get at a store, good food, great atmosphere, and a fun neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose Island Clybourn Brewpub also viewed

 

Been to Goose Island Clybourn Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose Island Clybourn Brewpub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.