We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emilio's Sol y Nieve

Emilio's Sol y Nieve
215 E Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60611-3259 (Streeterville)
312-467-7177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Emilio's Sol y Nieve is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #464 of 7,738 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Cross street: Colombus Drive
Transit: CTA Bus 151, Red Line Grand Stop.
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had lunch here with a business colleague/friend on a Wednesday. It was a beautiful afternoon, so I wanted to eat outside. We ordered three dishes and a pitcher of white Sangria. The waitress was very helpful with suggestions and attentive to what we were looking for. We had a very relaxed chat and enjoyed our dishes and surroundings. It's not too far from the Marriott Courtyard on E. Ontario.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    48
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

While in Chicago this past week, I gave this place a try. Went in on a Wednesday evening. Decided to eat outside since it was a beautiful evening and there was plenty of empty tables. Our server was friendly but seemed like he could not wait to get out of the place. He was not attentive at all. And the few times he came to the table he would not even look at us and talked so fast that you could not get a word he was saying.
The food was average. We shared a few dishes, all of which were just barely warm.
With all the choices in Chicago, I would not go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favorite near Magnificent Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletrees on Ohio St and found this delightful restaurant just 1/2 block away. Lovely outdoor seating. We ordered the tapas and EVERY dish was fantastic. The waitress was very helpful and efficient. This is a very relaxed place to just sit and enjoy being outside and enjoy the wonderful food. We started with the assorted cheese platter which was to die for! Four delicious cheese varieties surrounded with carmelized olives and wonderful glazed figs. I would go back just for this starter. We also tried the chicken with grilled vegetables, the special salmon served over tomato, a mixed mushroom dish and others - I had to go back a second night I enjoyed it so much. I don't like being over whelmed with huge orders, so this was very nice to order the small plates tapas and then order more as needed. EVERY dish we ordered was just delicious and could stand on its own. If I lived in Chicago, I eat her once a week!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A very nice evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit to Emilio's Tapas, just off Michigan Ave on Ohio. The atmoshere was relaxed and the service was excellent. Best of all, the tapas were absolutely terrific. The wine list is very good and reasonably priced. The area is wonderful, too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went here on a whim and was pleased with how it turned out. Everything was tasty and full of flavor! It wasn't busy (surprisingly) and service was quick. The waitress even tried to down-sell us thinking we had ordered too many different tapas plates! Never had that happen before. All-in-all, a good experience and would definitely recommend going there if you're into Spanish cuisine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilio's Sol y Nieve also viewed

 

Been to Emilio's Sol y Nieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emilio's Sol y Nieve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.