We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

The Palm
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 616-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #742 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: One Block East of Columbus
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent steak dinners, great salad, wonderfully whipped goat cheese potatoes, and their famous onion strings. Steaks melted in our mouths.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    28
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved the filet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Because we were with a conference, we had three menu items to choose from; however, everything was very good. I would have liked for the dinner to have started a little earlier but that would be my only complaint as the food was good and the staff was very nice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We checked into the Swissotel about 8 p.m. We chose to leave our coats in our rooms and just head down to The Palm. We live literally up the street from a Palm so we knew pretty much what to expect: pretty good food, high prices. blah décor. And that's what it was. However, throw in service that was not that great in this instance. Pleasant enough but our food just took too long. The restaurant was not full but perhaps the table of 8 nearby, who all had lobster, threw off the kitchen? If it hadn't have been already past dinner time, we wouldn't have selected this as our dining option.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This restaurant was right under my hotel, so after a day of traveling, it was nice to wander down to get some dinner. I ordered the chicken avocado sandwich. I had to order fries separately as a basket; which was way too much for one person. The food, however, was exceptional, and the service was above and beyond. They were even kind enough to email me my receipt a few weeks later for my expense report. For a sandwich, fries and water my bill was around $22, but I made about 3 meals out of that one!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow steak and seafood !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My boyfriend kept telling me about the Palm , so he finally took me here . The food is a bit pricey , but delicious ... There crab cakes are the best I ever had !!!!! This is a must for a special occasion !! I would eat here again !!! Happy guest !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.