We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the special deals...listen to your patrons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

The Palm
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)
(312) 616-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #797 of 7,738 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: One Block East of Columbus
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Skip the special deals...listen to your patrons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've always enjoyed the Palm, but weren't happy with our recent experience. We were celebrating a special birthday celebration dinner. They had some specials which seemed worth the deal, but in reality a lower quality of meat. Skip it! The waiter did not listen to my request for no seasoning (after specifically requesting it 3 times) and they had to remake my steak. Unfortunately, the two of us ate our dinners separately as a result. Not the ultimate dining experience. A sign of not being able to follow directions. Apologies were made, but not compensation offered such as a special dessert, drink, or additions as in other restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    46
    29
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place for a nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Chicago Swissotel for a long weekend. For our first night, we ate dinner at the Palm, adjacent to the hotel. Service was great as the waiter reminded me of an old school server. He really knew the menu and offered helpful suggestions. His associate frequently came by with bread when we wanted it. The manager stopped by once to check on everything. Loved both the Italian bread with whipped butter and the sweet potato bread. We shared a couple of appetizers - crabcake, and jumbo shrimp cocktail with atomic (no lie!) horseradish - that were both excellent. She ordered a specialty salad and I had the linguini in clams sauce - both excellent as well. For dessert, we had the key lime pie and the carrot cake - delicious, and large portions. A very nice place to go on a special occasion; not too crowded nor loud, and excellent attentive service. I'll be happy to come back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, NC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I'm a bit partial to The Palm having been addicted to the one on 50th in NYC but really, this one is great. The service is magnificent and they always make you feel like your special. On a number of occasions, they went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. Bar here is great! Love the filet sliders!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Come for the steak and stay for the steak, salad, wine and service. The portions are huge, so sharing is fine and they will divide the plates for you -- without complaining. The waiter was old school steak house and helped us choose a good wine. He made sure we knew there were anchovies in the salad and he brought us a fabulous cut of beef -- on the bone -- that we really enjoyed. Chicago has lots of steak houses, and some are spectacular, but if you end up here, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner at the Palm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Palm is located in the Swissotel in Chicago. It's where you go if you have no other plans and you forgot to make reservations till the day before. To its credit, the walls are covered with cartoon-style illustrations and charactatures that tell the story of Chicago on both a broad and insider scale. And the atmosphere in the lobby is pretty cool. And it's a brief walk to the Mag Mile.

We made the mistake of ordering from the Thanksgiving menu, and were treated to institutional quality turkey, mashed potatoes, beans, and fixings. Thank goodness the wine and pre-dinner drinks were sturdy. The patrons ranged from similarly situated couples and families, to a few clueless tourists. Service was blase, the waiter was disinterested. Our fault for picking this place under the circumstances. Probably a decent place if you're staying at the Suissotel as a tourist, but not a venue for a memorable evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm also viewed

 

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.