We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than I expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Creperie

La Creperie
2845 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60657 (Lakeview)
+1 773-528-9050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #977 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Dessert
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Description: La Creperie is a casual French restaurant that for the past 42 yrs has been a Chicago favorite. Savory and Sweet crepes, as well as delicious soups and salads.
Jundiai, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Less than I expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

When I had gone there, my expectations are higher because I have been in one Creperia in Paraty (Brasil), and the La Creperie at Chicago, is good only, the crepes are not so tasteful and my crepe was a litlle bit well done. The goog thing is, there are a lot of options of wine...good only.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    15
    26
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“40 years and counting - like an old friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is worn - like an old comfortable pair of slippers! A great place to relax and just chill.

Inspired: nothing really

Pro: location, server Marie, food good, awesome patio in the summer, wine list, great old posters

Con: nothing really

Return: you bet! I look forward to eating out back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good crepes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

While the crepes may or may not be authentic they are tasty. Our party of 5 had nothing but crepes and we were very satisfied. The Fruits de Mer, Chicken Curry and Beef Bourguignon were our favorites while the spinach was nothing great. We had chocolate and banana shared for desert and liked it too. The decor is nothing special, dated and old, but somehow works in that setting of a family owned busuness. Service was decent, nothing special either way. We did see alot of families come in on a Sunday evening and luckily beat the rush.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“spare your palate, your stomach and wallet. Amis/ies francais epargnez votre palais ..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spare yourself ! run away ! I am French and I know what Crepes are...there is nothing French about La Creperie, and certainly not these overpriced pale imitation of sorry crepes served in a 1970's "vintage " decor in bad need of a make-over. The furniture is sticky, the vinyl on the chairs peeling off, the walls are dark brown with some old poster of an Eiffel Tower to really make you think you are eating French...
I went for a fun dinner with 4 other French ladies: the salade Nicoise was a soggy 3 lettuce leaves fighting a battle with a hard boiled egg, centered by pieces of tuna fresh from the water can...Nicoise , Hello ?
the dessert crepes felt like paper folded in 4 with sirup over...
the waitress was sweet. When came the ridiculous bill, we were charged a mandatory 18 % gratuities, even though we were only 5 ladies. when we talked to the manager, who of course could not speak one word of French, he told us this was our own making since we had initially booked for 8, therefore the charge. When we pointed out the sorry restaurant was empty on a Tuesday eve, he still did not want to acknowledge we were only 5, therefore we could have given our gratuities to the waitress ?
so overall: Yes 1 star: Bad setting, Bad food, Bad service

si vous pouvez lire le Francais: epargnez votre palais, votre estomac et votre porte-monnaie, oubliez La Creperie !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“C'est Magnifique!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for a charming, reasonably priced, romantic eveningt, go to La Creperie. It has been in Chicago for years, has delicious crepes and is across from the art house movie theater, making for a perfect date night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Creperie also viewed

 

Been to La Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Creperie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.