We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fast and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ken Kee Restaurant

Ken Kee Restaurant
2129 S China Pl Ste A, Chicago, IL 60616-1536 (Chinatown)
(312) 326-2088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #646 of 7,739 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fast and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great authentic chinese food in Chicago's Chinatown. The sweet and sour chicken is the standout dish for me. You cant go wrong if you need something quick and that tastes good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Been going for 10 years. Amazing tastes always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ken Kee used to be a hole in the wall with only Asians as customers. Wow, the quality of food is great. Now they've spiced the décor, and a little bit of change with more Europeans. The taste is still yummy, but they have competition for some of the vegetarian dishes. The Congee is still fabulous. I still love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fast, fresh and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this cafe for lunch. Modern, clean decor and extensive menu, hot tea and water delivered as soon as you are seated. Combo fried rice, ginger fish and shrimp wontons all delicious. Order mantou for dessert and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Spicy, fast, and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Disclaimer: I am not an expert on authentic Chinese food. I cannot differentiate the various regional varieties. Hell, I have a hard time knowing the different regional variations in my own cuisine (Indian), let alone another cuisine. I just know what I like. And I like the spicy Szechuan sauce.

Boiled fish in a spicy Szechuan sauce is one of my all time favorite Chinese foods. I tend to order the dish at any Chinese restaurant that serves it. I have eaten this dish at many Chinese restaurants and I think Ken Kee's version is the best. Is it authentic? I don't know. More importantly, it is darn good....not laden with chili oil like the other restaurants where I've eaten. However, the spice factor is not compromised...it still burns your insides. Ken Kee uses small dried chili peppers in the sauce that are delightful to crunch. That sweet sweet chili pepper burn! It is glorious!!

The man ordered frog legs and hot and sour soup, which were excellent. We also ordered Man-tou: fried dough served with a sweet sauce. It helped placate the burn from eating too many dried chili peppers.

Service is attentive. Food comes out fast. No frills kinda place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food are great! We were order sake fish, pork chop with thousand island sauce, tofu. The best is pork chop. The sauce is really good. the service is not so bad, but certain waiter are a bit rude and can't speak English well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken Kee Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ken Kee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken Kee Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.