We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feast for the eyes, hit and miss on the palate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Zebra

Green Zebra
1460 W Chicago Ave, Ste 1, Chicago, IL 60642-5587 (Northwest Side)
312-243-7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Green Zebra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #378 of 8,392 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Cross street: Greenview
Transit: Blue Line, Chicago Avenue Bus, Ashland Avenue Bus
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Feast for the eyes, hit and miss on the palate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Once you manage to find this restaurant, which is to say the external signage implies this the Green Zebra is a speakeasy, you're drawn in by the modern decor and warm lighting. The service was excellent and walked us through vegan options and helped select a nice wine. We started with the hummus plate and a western version of kimchi, which were both excellent, followed by a lentil soup, also delicious, but over-salted. We chose a variety of entrees to share among the three of us, and they ranged from the sublime to the bland. In the final analysis, you should give the Green Zebra a chance, and you may find a few dishes that become your favorite; however, for the prices I'd expect them all to be winners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Had higher expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a destination that has been on my list for a long time. We are visiting from out of town and went there for birthday dinner. First the positives, great ambiance, and nice service. The menu read well. We are vegan so we worked around the menu with help from our server. We did like the somen noodles, dumplings, Brussels sprouts, mushrooms and squash ( last three were sides).
We were less impressed with the spaghetti squash and hash. The peanut butter bombe for dessert was very good. Overall the experience was good but not great and we would not return. The main reason, flavors were missing. Having been to many high end vegan restaurants around the country, I had a high bar for Green Zebra.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Good service, food & ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a very good vegetarian restaurant. The service was very good. They have unique drinks & unique food items. The food quantity is small, so it is best to order several items & share them. The ambiance is nice & upscale here. I gave this a 4 instead of 5 as I did not enjoy the food as much as some other vegetarian restaurants such as Millenium in San Francisco or Hiltl in Zurich. Having said that, the food is still very good & the experience is good, & I do recommend coming here, whether you are vegetarian or not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Looks great, tastes good, price bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An enjoyable dining experience, the restaurant looks and acts the part - great decor and great service. The food was mostly good, some of it great. It is very expensive - around 20% cheaper and it would still be a pricey meal but feel much better value. Some nice beer too. We steered clear of the wine as it seemed poor value. Definitely worth a visit though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I always go to Green Zebra when in Chicago and am never disappointed. This time I came with two non-vegetarian friends who both loved it. The cuisine is always innovative and new as it changes with what is available each season.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Zebra also viewed

 

Been to Green Zebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Zebra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.