We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Mediterranean Kitchen

Cedars Mediterranean Kitchen
1206 E 53rd St, Chicago, IL 60615-4008 (Hyde Park)
773-324-6227
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cedars Mediterranean Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,423 of 8,383 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Hyde Park
Cross street: Woodlawn Ave.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I like the food. Nice servers, interesting spices, Middle East emphasis. Give it a try! Hi. I like pie. I'm a guy. I had a budgie but it died.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Lebanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Cedars has been a fixture of the Hyde Park community for many years now, and has never disappointed. Although their menu has changed to cater more to American taste, some of the items on the menu remain close to the originals. The kefta kebab is delicious, as is their lamb stew. The baba ganouj is not great, but you have to try their signature house fries, which come with almost all meals. Not much of a choice when it comes to dessert, but when they have it, the harayie is worth a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Situated near the Museum of Science and Industry. We saw locals coming in for carry out, so thats always a good sign that food is good. The Cedars Sampler plate was just right for a lunch with hummus, fresh pita, falafel & tabouli. Generous portion but not too much. Freshly prepared and tasty. Hummus was excellent! Tabouil had lots of fresh parsley and mint. The pistachio baklava was dry tho and I would have liked to have had more honey it it but it did have lots of nuts.
Will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cedars Restaurant Hyde Park Chicago IL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Inexpensive, free parking, good service PLUS terrific midddle eastern food including special lentil soup and fine salads and pita bread. Always fairly quiet. Short drive to all the University of Chicago's great attractions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Delightful Mediterranean in Hyde Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

While on a visit to Chicago, my daughter and I visited Cedars for dinner. The restaurant, located in Hyde Park near the University of Chicago campus, offers a wide variety of Mediterrean dishes at reasonable prices. We started the meal with a superb Jerusalem Salad and great Grilled Baba Ghanooj. My daughter ordered the Kefta Kebob, a superb char-grilled lamb with tomatoes and other veggie. I ordered a Vegetable Curry with Chicken, which had the right level of spice and condimentations, and excellent Basmati rice on the side. For dessert we ordered rice pudding and Turkish coffee, excellent choices to end a wonderful dinner. The meal had no disappointments. The portions were generous, and the food was well-prepared. Definitely, we will return to sample the rest of their menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars Mediterranean Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Cedars Mediterranean Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Mediterranean Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.