We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open very late.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarke's on Belmont

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Clarke's on Belmont
930 W Belmont Ave, Ste 1, Chicago, IL 60657-4493 (Lakeview)
773-348-5988
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,661 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Open very late.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great place to eat any time. Right across the street from the hotel. Great Breakfast! kind of like a mom and pop diner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paducah
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Classic Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We got of the train at Belmont to eat and catch a show at Theater Wit. Clarke's was right there, and we were intrigued by their sign which read "Oh my, you should eat!" We agreed and went in. They are touted as having a tremendous breakfast menu, but we were attracted to all the burger and fry choices. We all had different burgers, and they were huge and delicious! You also get a choice of several varieties of fries. The portions are huge, and the food quality was outstanding. It was the best burger and fries I've had in quite some time. I really do recommend this diner if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great diner food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a great little place with a helpful, friendly staff and quick service. As a vegetarian, I typically have 1 or 2 options at diner type places, but I was pleased at how many things I had to choose from here. Their veggie burgers are the best I have ever had, and they will make any of their burgers a veggie burger for you. The sweet potato fries are delicious, as is the fresh-squeezed orange juice. They are open 24/7, which is always a plus. In addition to the typical diner food that you would expect, they also had burritos and a couple other options if you aren't in the mood for a sandwich, salad, or soup.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooks, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

you have to try their brocoli cheese soup, it is to die for. I got a bowl and my whole family fought over it. their steak pita was wonderful too. My son said their burger was awsome. We all agreed their pizza sucked though.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super Amazing Fries Selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

“My, You Should Eat!”
If you’re looking for a classic diner with great burgers and shakes (and maybe a heart attack?), this is it. A huge selection and huge portions with fair prices, and fair service. An amazing fry selection (french, waffle, sweet potato, you name it). Very family friendly with lots of young people dining there. And the best darn oldies station you’ve ever heard on the loud speakers! www.tastytravelers.tumblr.com

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke's on Belmont also viewed

 

Been to Clarke's on Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarke's on Belmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.