We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ann Sather

Ann Sather
909 W Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60657
773-348-2378
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great breakfast - we had eggs benny with smoked salmon, PLUS two sides! One, plus two monster cinnamon rolls! We each took one away with us because we were so full. The waiter was very concientious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    77
    27
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great old Swedish Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A neighborhood gem. They are located in the GLBT area. They have real authentic Swedish meals. Lingenberry, celery root gravy and all the food is exceptional.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My daughter and I enjoyed breakfast here recently. She ordered the (Rachael Ray recommended) french toast dish and I ordered an omelet with the intention we would share with one another. I didn't realize my omelet came with 2 "sides" so I ordered the cinnamon rolls they are known for and fresh fruit (which would counteract all the calories we'd both just ordered!) Everything was very good, but it really was too much food for us- if we could do it over we would have been fine just splitting my omelet, cinnamon rolls and fruit. For the amount of food you get, the prices are quite reasonable and we had excellent service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We tried this for breakfast based on a recommendation from a friend. Not disappointed! Great food - huge portions - Cinnamon rolls were great! I had eggs benedict with smoked salmon... oh my.... yummy! The service was friendly and attentive. We will be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Fantasy for your Tastebuds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was there for lunch, but had to opt for the dish that Rachael Ray raved about called French Toast Fantasy. It did not disappoint. It was the concept of stuffed french toast, but instead of bread they used their famous cinnamon buns. So good, very sweet.
The service was top-notch as the server came over right away and took our drink orders, and came back every so often to refill waters, etc. I would recommend going during an off-peak time because I have been there on a weekend during breakfast hours and the wait can be over an hour sometimes. So, lunch on a week day might be better and you can still get the great breakfast options.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ann Sather also viewed

 

Been to Ann Sather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann Sather, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.