We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nookies

Nookies
1746 N Wells St, Chicago, IL 60614
3123372454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Appleton
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a short wait on a Sunday morning, closer to noon, longer wait. she had Spanish Omelette, delicious and moist. I had Fall sampler platter and the Apples on French Toast was my favorite! Good coffee and good service. Decor is bright and airy, because the place is so busy, it has a "busy" atmosphere. Definitely would eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“great place for a good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

the omelettes were delicious and sitting outside to eat on a nice summer chicago morning can't be beat. the inside is bustling with so many hungry chicagoans. a great place to people watch

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been to Nookies previously and was happy with the place. The food was above average, but this last visit will be my last. I ordered an egg white spinach, bacon and cheddar omelet. My fellow diners ordered basic breakfasts of eggs and pancakes and were satisfied. However, my omelet was so oily that it was inedible. I told our server of the issue and nothing was done to resolve it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A restaurant that makes you feel good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a really good place to eat if you want a good meal for a good price and with good service. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Furthermore, the atmosphere in the restaurant was really relaxing. I would really recommend the meatloaf - it's truly delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went on a monday morning (9:30 am) and there wasn't a wait. The specials all sounded good. A friend tried the peach pancakes w/raspberries and said they were awesome. The french toast came covered in berries (fresh, not frozen), and the hangover helper was quite tasty (even w/o being hungover).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nookies also viewed

 

Been to Nookies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nookies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.