We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Cozy and Utterly Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filippo's Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Filippo's Ristorante
2211 N Clybourn Ave, Chicago, IL 60614-4284 (DePaul)
773-528-2211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Filippo's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #470 of 8,383 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: DePaul
Cross street: Webster
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint, Cozy and Utterly Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Lovers of Northern Italian food know authenticity when they taste it, and believe me, this stuff is real! Whether you try the focaccia, the Five Mushrooms in a White Wine Garlic sauce (Fettucine Boscaiola) or the Tiramisu (the best I've ever eaten), you will be delighted. Small and family- owned, Filippo's is a Lincoln Park gem. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New Fave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Our dad wanted to come here for fathers day. When we got here we were greeted nicely. The pasta was amazing And my mom said her salmon was the best.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Super friendly host, every meal and course was fabulous, nice atmosphere.
Will try to go to again every time we go to Chicago.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decadent sauces, great local find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Overnight trip to the Windy City brought us (3 families with 1 teenage daughter each) to Filippo's last pm. When you enter the front door, you are blown away by the smells of garlic, fresh bread, marinara sauce & oregano & it only gets better from there. Restaurant is owned & run by a local family. Several in our group had 3 cheese ravioli special & really raved.the calamari was yummy, not too heavily breaded & fresh.I had the Pollo Shirley (trying to be healthy) it was quite good, but I'd recommend throwing in the towel & having either the lasagna (cheese, sauce & spices were phenomenal-how great can lasagna be? It was AMAZING!) or anything with a cheese sauce. We also shared numerous salads, really fresh veggies seasoned well. Desserts were also yummy, gelato, tiramisu & some incredibly rich chocolate cake thing.....
Service was friendly, staff were helpful with recommendations, warm smiles & kept your drinks filled. Restaurant is on the small side, making for a family like experience, but I wouldn't recommend showing up without a reservation.
Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We found Filippo’s in the midst of standard chain restaurants. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the real Italian waiters. Each dish was better then the other – make sure you share. After dessert, they brought out home made lemon cello. A must try!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Filippo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filippo's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.