We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merlo Ristorante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Merlo Ristorante
2638 N Lincoln Ave, Chicago, IL 60614 (DePaul)
(773) 529-0747
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: DePaul
Cross street: Wrightwood
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Pasta is excellent. Average calamari is overpriced at $9. Unspectacular wines are pricey. Gelato is superb.

We were less than happy with the restaurant's attitude. We dined early (5:30) on a weeknight to catch a 7:30 theater curtain. Business was slow, with most tables empty. We were well dressed but we are a couple in our 60s, which apparently was a problem. We asked for an empty window table, which seats four, and were told it had to be held open in case a larger party needed seating. Fair enough. But when a sexy young woman in a slinky dress arrived with her partner, they were placed in the window without asking for that table.

We got the message.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    7
    3
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dinner before MDQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went here last night for dinner with another couple. We had ordered the beef tenderloin, red snapper, cornish hen and lamb shank. The pasta that we ordered was ver good as were the main plates. Our drinks were excellent also. They have a very nice wine menu. Great ambiance. Service was good. Our waiter, Scott, was nice and very attentive. A little pricey. We plan on returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We ate dinner at Merlo before seeing the Million Dollar Quartet at the Apollo. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner here last night and loved it. The Osso bucco was wonderful. Wonderful homemade pasta. Would return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic italian place in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

Authentic italian place in Chicago.
Superb hand made pasta.
Thursday wine by the bottle 50% off.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlo Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlo Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.