We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun, romantic and unique dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geja's Cafe

Geja's Cafe
340 W Armitage Ave, Chicago, IL 60614-4739
773-281-9101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Geja's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #341 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lincoln and Clark
Transit: Brown Line to Sedgewick / North
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fun, romantic and unique dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Living in Toronto, it's difficult to find unique, novel dining experiences - we are spoiled with such a variety here. But I learned of Geja's Café from a Chicago expat I work with and am so grateful he passed on this little gem. The atmosphere is wonderful - individual little "rooms" almost that make you feel like you're dining in your own little world - and the food and wine is all superb. And it's in a fun, walking around kind of neighbourhood that makes for a great night out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    58
    33
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My fiancée and I went there for her birthday dinner during a trip to Chicago, and we loved it. The food was excellent (beef tenderloin was melt-in-your-mouth good). The wait staff was attentive and explained the best procedure for cooking each item. We definitely plan on dining here again on future visits to the Chicago area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fun and fulfilling, good quality food, loved every course- and the variety- including veggies and dessert too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second visit was MUCH better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My initial review of this place was not so good (there was a very big issue that the restaurant did not handle well), but the manager took note of our dissatisfaction and sent us a gift card to give the restaurant another chance. Frankly, I'm glad we did because our second time around was much better and I wish this was our experience on our anniversary a month ago. I really appreciated the manager noticing our dissatisfaction and caring to make it right for us, because based on the popularity of the restaurant, I feel they easily could have ignored us as well.

We had a booth this time and our server, Shannon, was more energetic and friendly than our server from the first time. She did a great job of making us feel attended to and welcome and really, she alone made our experience 10x better. The food was great and Shannon made some very helpful suggestions on meat and sauce pairings that tasted wonderful together. After this experience we would definitely consider coming back for future special occasions.

I also have to add that the booth made a HUGE difference. It had a great ambiance, and actually had room for us to enjoy our meal without feeling squashed into a small table. The booths need to be specifically requested though before you get there, so thats just a tip for anyone coming here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Fondue with cheese, breads, salad, then main and dessert all cooked at your table with the pots. Very good food and service. We had a cozy booth. I would advise only to get one premier dinner and share and then buy a la carte if you think it would not be enough. We each got a premier dinner and was way more than we could eat. I asked for the chocolate without the orange flambé and really like it. I would go again. Make reservations.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geja's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Geja's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geja's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.