We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rooster Wine Bar & Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Rooster Wine Bar & Cafe
2100 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60614-4359 (DePaul)
773-929-7660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: DePaul
Description: Wonderful daily specials including a 3-course dinner Sunday to Thursday for $20. Quaint, romantic and unpretentious, join us for a great escape and excellent French Cuisine.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Food is good and atmosphere fun and friendly. Wait staff works hard to complete positive experience.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Great Cooking in Quaint French Bistro Atmosphere in Lincoln Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Do not be mislead by the entrance to Red Rooster, which is around the corner and shares a kitchen with Cafe Bernard. What happens inside is wonderful French Bistro cooking, done very well indeed. Chef's selections are listed on a blackboard in the barn wood encrusted room painted with nice murals. The place truly does have a country French feel. Service is friendly and warm and efficient without the typical Chicago "eat and be gone" push. We both had an unusual but very tasty cucumber and tomoto gespacho for starter and both the swordfish. The swordfish was perfectly prepared with an olive tapenade and fresh roasted potatoes and veggies. It was about the best swordfish we have ever had, truly. For desert we went with a strawberry rhubarb compote, made with local market ingredients and just the right sour, sweet taste. We opted to go with a glass of their house red, a very drinkable Cotes de Rhone for a reasonable $8.25 a glass. Prices for the entree were $23, the soup $6.25 and the desert the same. Total bill with wine was $79. This is a real bargain in Chicago and when combined with the excellent cooking this place is a true find and even a good value at much higher prices.
ZB

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Loved this little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We visited this restaurant on a chilly (alright, it was freezing) Sunday evening. Our daughter just moved into an apartment down the street and we decided to give it a try. It was so cozy, and quiet and had a such a great atmosphere, we were content as soon as we went in.

The have a prix fixe menu on Sunday night, so two of us ordered off of that and one of us got the pork tenderloin special of the day. I had salmon, which was so delicious and my daughter had steak that made me almost jealous that I didn't get that. All the food was excellent and we enjoyed the desserts and the reasonably priced wine.

Don't be put off by the looks of the place from the outside, it's a great restaurant and we plan on returning when Chicago warms up a bit!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“tiny slice of France near DePaul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

If you're looking for slick chrome and modern minimalist cuisine, don't come here. If you want to feel like you've been transported to a neighborhood bistro in France, walk around the corner and come in the side door to the Red Rooster.
Paired with Cafe Bernard (which fronts on Halsted), the Red Rooster offers excellent food at reasonable prices. Max seating is 24 at about 8 tables, so it's a little tight and loud, but not bothersome. We arrived early and, as others suggested, had a drink in the Cafe Bernard until they were ready for us -- right on time.
The menu features about 12 entrees, each of which sounded great. Among 3 of us, we had 2 appetizers, a beef entree, a salmon salad and a chicken entree -- all well done. The wine was excellent, with variety and cost to match anyone's interest.
My only issue was that our waiter was a bit slow and overworked. I think one server was sick and another recovering from surgery, so I can't be too hard on our guy.
I really like this place and would definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Looks so run down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We had intended to eat here based on other reviews, but when we arrived to the corner and saw the "sister restaurant" Cafe Bernard with its dismal, faded, handlettered sign in the window we began to cringe. Near the open screened door to the kitchen we passed dirty, unused sidewalk tables -- then approached a worn out, plywood door for the Red Rooster leading to long, winding (also dirty) staircase ... we just couldn't go in. The exterior was so unappealing. In reviewing the other comments here, they primarily seem to be written in winter. Perhaps they have not cleaned the premises this summer or it's just harder to notice in winter. Anyone else been there lately? The exterior impression was terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rooster Wine Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rooster Wine Bar & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.