We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erie Cafe

Erie Cafe
536 W Erie St, Chicago, IL 60654-5726 (Near North Side)
312-266-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Erie Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #625 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: N. Larrabee St.
San Clemente, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our Chicago associates picked the Erie Cafe for our lunch. They've lived in Chicago for decades and know the good places. This is old time good.

When you walk in, you know what to expect - it's the old style type place - career waiters, comfortable atmosphere, attentive, but not hovering service. They know their customers and are quick to accommodate them whatever the request.

We had the burgers (excellent), potato-chip thin fries, sausage and peppers, cheese ravioli with meat sauce and a steak salad. All were excellent. The steak salad has a whole sliced tenderloin on top.

Overall, if we were in the neighborhood, I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I don't get this place. Super expensive. Bad food. Location is nothing great. But the place is always very busy.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view and dining expereince”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fabulous outdoor patio w a view on the river and park. Fresh seafood and ginormous shrimp! Hubs liked the soup as its a significant factor to him. Ask for Arnold he got hubs the "crazy steak." 26oz bone in ribeye w shrooms bacon and red wine sauce...It's dreamy! I got the white fish...yummy!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent Steak House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went on a Monday night and it was not crowded. Our service was very good. I was surprised that the interior was not more upscale. The pepper steak was not what I expected it to be - tasty yes but smothered in green and red peppers. My wife got the prime rib, and well she always likes prime rib. It was so large that we took it on the drive home and I am not sure that it was finished until a couple of days later. I tried it and enjoyed it. Nothing particularly special about the place - and probably the only reason that we would go back there is for well - the prime rib.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Looks better than it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Four of us had dinner mid July and chose not to eat on the beautiful patio because of heat and humidity. The salads; 2 house, 1 sliced tomato and my caesar were just fair. Lasagna and my linguini with white clam were just OK. The two ladies had the cheese ravioli with vodka sauce was very good and the best value of the evening. Service was slow for a not so busy Friday night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erie Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Erie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erie Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.