We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a frenetic but organized atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebud Steakhouse

Rosebud Steakhouse
192 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1504 (Streeterville)
312-397-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosebud Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Cross street: Mies Van Der Rohe Way
Transit: The Red Line's Chicago stop is .4 mile South West at the corner of Chicago Avenue and State Street.
Ballston Spa, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food in a frenetic but organized atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Rosebud Steakhouse near the Drake Hotel is worth the pricey menu. Dinner for two with tip was $180. Service is excellent despite the very busy/ loud dinner time. It's almost a show to watch the flow of the wait staff. The wine list is a digital tablet brought to your tablet. My appletini was shaken not stirred and perfect. My petite filet was cooked to perfection and my husband's lamb chops were excellent. We shared a delicious and piping hot, huge cheddar and bacon mashed potatoes side. Our gelato was very creamy and flavorful. I would recommend the Rosebud, just be prepared to pay rather highly for your meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    75
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the "Price"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hilton recommended this place, and were they right on! The service was excellent, very knowledgable staff. I ordered the Wednesday special - Steak Dianne, incredible! The steak was cooked perfectly, the Dianne sauce was out of this world!! All the favors came together. I also ordered the onion rings, wonderful combination. For the downtown Chicago area, the prices were reasonable. I'll be back in a few weeks, and will be dinning there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were staying at The Drake and this restaurant was recommended and booked for us by the concierge. It is just steps away from the hotel. It's an amazing place. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful and suggested sharing the side orders - a great suggestion as the baked potato really was 'colossal'. We both had filet steaks, mine the smaller 8 oz option, my husband's 12 oz. Believe me, an 8oz filet in England is nowhere near the size of the 8oz in this restaurant. Both were cooked to perfection, medium rare - superb. The wine suggested by our server was really good too. The restaurant was very busy, but service was excellent. Highly recommend the place and will definitely go there when (not if) we return to Chicago. Love Chicago and love this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great way to open up our Chicago vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

They make you feel like royalty from the moment you walk in the door. We were staying just down the street in the Drake, so this was a very convenient place for us to have dinner the first night. I was very surprised at the level of service here. One of my biggest pet peeves at a restaurant is not being able to get water refills, but that was definitely not an issue here! Our waiter would literally pop up out of nowhere as our drinks began to become empty. The steaks we had were very delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, good company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had the best steak I think I have ever had here at the Rosebud Steakhouse!
We were visiting Chicago and went with a couple of friends on a Friday night. Enjoyed the jazz music and the atmosphere in the restaurant. Our waiter had personality plus and kept the wine flowing and accommodated all our food choices. From the bread basket to the dessert it was fabulous!! We all had the bone-in-filet Mignon steaks and would recommend!!!.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosebud Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Rosebud Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebud Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.