We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choices - all good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foodlife

Foodlife
835 N.Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)
(312) 335-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #418 of 7,739 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Chinese, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great choices - all good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

With a family of five, we all got to eat what we wanted. Some food is weighed by the pound (salads) and some pre-packaged. We sat in a room just through the wine room for some extra privacy and a quieter environment.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    77
    29
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for a Quick Bite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just before checking out of a nearby hotel, my husband and I stopped in to Foodlife for a quick bite. It's not normally a place we'd eat--in the middle of a mall--but there are many wonderful food options for on the go! We'd stop back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So many choices, so little time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The perfect lunch spot with a group of people with different tastes. Fast, efficient, and quality food choices. Variety of choices for gluten free eaters too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not just a food court”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We go to Foodlife when friends visit Chicago, or when in town with our teenagers, because everyone will find something they like. You enter and are given a card to swipe and are seated. Then you can walk around and order any item from any stand, and your item price is swiped onto the card. The kids like to eat something and then walk around to find something else. There are enough choices for vegetarians, gluten-free eaters and picky eaters. It will not be as inexpensive as a regular food court, but it is a fun meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“ok for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

great place to grab a quick lunch or dinner while shopping in the Water tower area. great for solo or dining with friends. Would not take business. Great place if you go with a friend because one can choose from a variety of cuisines / food within the food-life area. Pick Chinese, stir-fry, BBQ, salad, sushi, soup bar or pizza.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foodlife also viewed

 

Been to Foodlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foodlife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.