We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place on Printer's Row with OK food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amarit

Amarit
600 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)
312-939-1179
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amarit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,108 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Harrison Street
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place on Printer's Row with OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were looking for a place close to our hotel and decided to try this place blind. The decor is nice and overall is a quiet, relaxing place for a meal. We started with eggrolls and pot stickers which were good. For dinner we had a rice dish, orange chicken and the sesame chicken - all which were fine.

All in all the food was OK but nothing to remember, but it was nice to find a quiet place for a relaxing meal amid all the bustle of Chicago.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Astor, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant classy local place. LUSH SOLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on Printer's Row looking for a bite to eat. The look from the cold street was warm and inviting. Thai and Pan Asian sounded great to me and my boyfriend was in a accommodating mood so I jumped at the chance! The servers were attentive and helpful. He chose pepper steak (yawn) but he really enjoyed the familiarity. It was properly prepared, the right temperature and texture, and made him happy at $8.75
I however went for something I had not tried before and would fly to Chicago just to eat this again. I had the Lime Sole. They described it as steamed sole fish with ginger, lemongrass, green onion, cilantro, and fresh lime. It did not say anything about the broth. The fish was swimming in this broth, soup on a platter. LUSH. On a cold night this non-soup was just perfect. I will be looking for something like this on menus for the rest of my life.
By the way, the total bill was under $25! For downtown Chicago? Amazing!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I love Thai food and found many decent reviews of this place so we gave it a go. We started with the vegetable tempura appetizer of which I found a hair in one of the vegetable pieces. Yummy. When our food came out it was neither appetizing to the eyes or in taste. My husband got the roast duck which looked more like leftovers that had been reheated, and I got the Pad Thai that I had to drown in spicy chili to give even a slight amount of flavor to. Overall, we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago , USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have now been going to this palce as our "local" thai eatery for the last 4 years and never been disappointed. the place is clean, the service is excellent and the food is always fresh and tasty. Prices are amazingly reasonable and we typically get two entrees and an appetiser for around $30 and as it's a BYOB, that's usually the entire bill. For a simple, well cooked Thai meal, this is one of my favourite places. As our family has grown, we've also learnt it is very child friendly- speed of service helping greatly in my ratings of places that are child friendly versus those that are not -and this place comes out tops on that front.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was a no nonsense restaurant, with tasty, mid-priced food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarit also viewed

 

Been to Amarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.