We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Colonial

Le Colonial
937 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-1422 (Gold Coast)
3122550088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Colonial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 8,295 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Oak
Transit: Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156
Description: LE COLONIAL IS CELEBRATING 15 YEARS IN CHICAGO’S GOLD COAST AREA ON RUSH STREET. THIS NOTED UP-SCALE FRENCH-VIETNAMESE RESTAURANT TRANSPORTS GUESTS TO ANOTHER TIME AND PLACE, VIVIDLY RECAPTURING THE BEAUTY, ROMANCE AND SPIRIT OF 1920’S FRENCH COLONIAL SOUTHEAST ASIA. THE SECOND-FLOOR MAIN BAR, LOUNGE, AND TERRACE ARE ADORNED WITH PLUSH COUCHES, WOVEN RATTAN CHAIRS, AND POTTED PALMS. BLACK AND WHITE PHOTOS OF TURN OF THE CENTURY LIFE IN SAIGON SET THE STAGE FOR YOUR NEXT EVENT."LE COLONIAL IS AN ESCAPIST'S PARADISE, A CLEVERLY CRAFTED RE-CREATION OF THE CIVILIZED YET EXOTIC WORLD OF FRENCH INDOCHINA. HERE IN ITS TONY OAK STREET ENVIRONS, LE COLONIAL HAS ONE OF THE LOVELIEST DINING ROOMS IN THE CITY -- AND THE SECOND FLOOR LOUNGE IS A SULTRY, SEDUCTIVE COCKTAIL DESTINATION.”
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Whenever I am in Chicago, I try to find time to come to this restaurant. The food is excellent. And it's been that way every time that I have visited over 15 years. Service is very good without being intimidating or overbearing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    148
    57
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“A perfect mix of Asia and France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is our last night in Chicago and we weren't disappointed just first rate food booked to perfection .

The team help you decide food your taste and wine to match .

The place is in a lovely building beautifully restored to blend with the fishes served

Worth going

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went here on a rainy evening in June and could only get a table upstairs in the bar area. There are dining tables there as well. The atmosphere is cozy and the food is fresh and delicious. Service was friendly and efficient. We will return next time in Chicago which will be soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice building, go else where for food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wife and I on business for dinner. Convenient on Rush St, It was a steak house previously they set up shop without much change. Place is nice inside call it Chinese with linens. Service is fast and not particularly friendly. This is just Chinese with lemon grass. Food is way over priced and not that good, there's a lot of Chinese, food in Chicago that better and less expensive. I was not impressed. Not a memorable meal nothing outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Six college classmates met for dinner at Le Colonial, and we all raved afterwards about our meal. We shared two dumpling type appetizers. My entree was a jumbo shrimp and asparagus dish, perfectly cooked; several women ordered chicken curry. Jasmine rice accompanied the entrees. We found our dishes to be very well seasoned and a melange of interesting spices and flavors. We shared a lemon curd tart on shortbread crust for dessert which was delicious. Our waitress was particularly helpful in guiding us through the extensive menu, making suggestions and getting the level of hotness tailored to our individual tastes. What a delightful evening! Le Colonial was definitely the most interesting meal we enjoyed during our four days in Chicago, and I plan to return next time I visit Chicago. While the website for the restaurant portrays the restaurant as an oasis of peace and quiet, it was crowded and quite noisy, so conversation was not always easy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Colonial also viewed

 

Been to Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.