We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an authentic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Colonial

Le Colonial
937 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-1422 (Near North Side)
3122550088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Colonial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 8,392 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Oak
Transit: Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156
Description: LE COLONIAL IS CELEBRATING 15 YEARS IN CHICAGO’S GOLD COAST AREA ON RUSH STREET. THIS NOTED UP-SCALE FRENCH-VIETNAMESE RESTAURANT TRANSPORTS GUESTS TO ANOTHER TIME AND PLACE, VIVIDLY RECAPTURING THE BEAUTY, ROMANCE AND SPIRIT OF 1920’S FRENCH COLONIAL SOUTHEAST ASIA. THE SECOND-FLOOR MAIN BAR, LOUNGE, AND TERRACE ARE ADORNED WITH PLUSH COUCHES, WOVEN RATTAN CHAIRS, AND POTTED PALMS. BLACK AND WHITE PHOTOS OF TURN OF THE CENTURY LIFE IN SAIGON SET THE STAGE FOR YOUR NEXT EVENT."LE COLONIAL IS AN ESCAPIST'S PARADISE, A CLEVERLY CRAFTED RE-CREATION OF THE CIVILIZED YET EXOTIC WORLD OF FRENCH INDOCHINA. HERE IN ITS TONY OAK STREET ENVIRONS, LE COLONIAL HAS ONE OF THE LOVELIEST DINING ROOMS IN THE CITY -- AND THE SECOND FLOOR LOUNGE IS A SULTRY, SEDUCTIVE COCKTAIL DESTINATION.”
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food in an authentic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Not only was the food excellent, but I felt like I was in old Hanoi - not easy in the middle of a Chicago winter. Our waitperson gave excellent recommendations and all of us were very pleased with the meal that we shared. And this is definitely a place to share dishes because the flavor possibilities are varied and exciting, so trying lots of items is lots of fun for the palate.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    160
    59
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great French Vietnamese meal - I had the surf and turf. The location and atmosphere was very nice and the meal worth going back for

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“vietnamese food at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

With no reservations and a full house, the maitre d' got us a table by the window. The menu was varied and with no experience of vietnamese food the waiter after a few basic questions of our likes and dislikes was very helpful in his recommendations, which ended up being spot on. We would deffinately recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice upstairs and decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived early and went for cocktails in the upstairs bar which was very pleasant. We were seated some time later for our food. We had a mixed experience with the food. My starter (monkfish) was superb whereas my main dish (duck) was quite bland and average. My wifes starters on the other hand was rather disappointing (the spring rolls) yet her main (sea bass) was excellent. The other couple who ate with us had a similar experience. However the service was the best that we had experienced in Chicago and I thought that the price was very reasonable too. All said we had a pleasant evening and I would probably return here if I came back to Chicago.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsip, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Like visiting the Raffles in Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Tucked away a few blocks from the bustling action of Michigan Ave and the Water Tower is this amazing restaurant that even on a cold Chicago winter night appears to whisk one away to another time and place in the far east. The quiet ambiance with the shutters and potted palms reminded me of my visit to the historic Raffles Hotel in Singapore or the Rex Hotel in Viet Nam.

Great atmosphere and service, the dining room was full but not noisy even with several large parties in attendance. The menu is a combination of vegetables, meats and spices that were anything but normal. The dishes we had ranged from a type of spring roll for an appetizer, a soup and main course tasted amazing and far from the ordinary. The service was attentive, and considering the menu very informative.

We will be back to try out the open air dining on the second floor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Colonial also viewed

 

Been to Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.