We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Colonial

Le Colonial
937 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-1422 (Near North Side)
3122550088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Colonial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Oak
Transit: Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156
Description: LE COLONIAL IS CELEBRATING 15 YEARS IN CHICAGO’S GOLD COAST AREA ON RUSH STREET. THIS NOTED UP-SCALE FRENCH-VIETNAMESE RESTAURANT TRANSPORTS GUESTS TO ANOTHER TIME AND PLACE, VIVIDLY RECAPTURING THE BEAUTY, ROMANCE AND SPIRIT OF 1920’S FRENCH COLONIAL SOUTHEAST ASIA. THE SECOND-FLOOR MAIN BAR, LOUNGE, AND TERRACE ARE ADORNED WITH PLUSH COUCHES, WOVEN RATTAN CHAIRS, AND POTTED PALMS. BLACK AND WHITE PHOTOS OF TURN OF THE CENTURY LIFE IN SAIGON SET THE STAGE FOR YOUR NEXT EVENT."LE COLONIAL IS AN ESCAPIST'S PARADISE, A CLEVERLY CRAFTED RE-CREATION OF THE CIVILIZED YET EXOTIC WORLD OF FRENCH INDOCHINA. HERE IN ITS TONY OAK STREET ENVIRONS, LE COLONIAL HAS ONE OF THE LOVELIEST DINING ROOMS IN THE CITY -- AND THE SECOND FLOOR LOUNGE IS A SULTRY, SEDUCTIVE COCKTAIL DESTINATION.”
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything we had was great, appetizer, salad and two entrees. Service was fast, maybe too attentive. The surroundings are wonderful. This was our first time, won't be our last. Been in Chicago just one year, and this is definitely in my top 5 restaurants of the 150 that I have tried.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    160
    59
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went to Le Colonial after learning that Aruns was closed that evening. While not fantastic, it was a solid, enjoyable experience. We started with drinks at the bar. The cocktail recommendation was great, but we had to ask for a repour on the sparkling wine because what we were initially served was completely flat and had been opened obviously for several days. The bartender was gracious and promptly complied. We chose a table outside on the second floor balcony which was lovely. The service was a little slow, but ultimately very competent. The food was consistently good if not exactly inspired. We had spring rolls and tuna tartare for appetizers which were above average. Similarly, both the Bo sate and the Ga xao xa ot were very tasty. We would happily return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This restaurant has a great vibe, good drinks and amazing food. We went on a really hot and humid (102 degrees!)day but all the food was tasty and light. Great vegetarian menu (try the tofu salad) and great service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Did a Good Job with Large Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Enjoyed this restaurant with a big group upstairs. They served everything "family style" so we got to sample a lot of the menu. Service was efficient - maybe not the friendliest in the world - but they were working very hard to meet our raccous group's needs. I really enjoyed everything I ate - it was unique and varied. I was looking at the various patrons and this restaurant would be ideal for a date, a girls night out, etc. It was fun to share unique food and I would welcome going to this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford, oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful Summer Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went on a Friday night and sat outside upstairs. Service was snappy and polite...this and a setting which reminds you of old Saigon...along with a diverse and tasty menu, well, we'll be back. Would like to try downstairs on a cold evening with good friends and great wine; go anytime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Colonial also viewed

 

Been to Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.