We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place. And I always see Iron Mike there when I go.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mike Ditka's Restaurant

Mike Ditka's Restaurant
100 E Chestnut St, Chicago, IL 60611-2014 (Gold Coast)
312-587-8989
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mike Ditka's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 8,380 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Between Michigan & Rush
Transit: Red Line - Chicago Avenue
North Liberty, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool place. And I always see Iron Mike there when I go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great location and atmosphere. The last 2 times I've gone I've ended up sitting at a table right next to Ditka. I like the set up, it's kind of a fancy sports bar. The food is good but not great. I will say though, for Chicago, the prices are pretty reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    253
    68
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Second visit; good food and good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our second visit. We went with friends and started with the Pot Roast Nachos. We had heard so much about them but never tried them. They were terrific. We had some Friday night and again in the bar on Saturday night.

I had the NY Strip Steak...cooked exactly how I ordered it...Delicious.

Love the wait staff in this place. They really enjoy talking about the Coach (we just missed him) and all of the nostalgia and history of the building, the coach, etc. Fun visit. Will return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great baby pork ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Got a dinner on Saturday night and was lucky enough to find a spot for two around 9:30PM...I took baby ribs and they were so tender that they were melting in my mouth and infusing all taste of great meat and BBQ sauce in my mouth. A ace that worth some waiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“A classic, great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

A great place and a classic in Chicago. The place is always packed so a reservation is a must. I had the "Iron Mike Burger", a Creme Brulee and an espresso. The three things were fantastic, great quality, fresh and well made. The burger is the best, the creme brulee amazing and the coffee is Lavazza so you can't go wrong. The service was great, the waiter Kyle a true gentleman and really knows his stuff, kudos to him. I would certainly return to Ditka's for a great meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a great place when you're looking for great atmosphere great food at fair prices. Steaks can't be beat but menu is varied so everyone will find something they like here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike Ditka's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike Ditka's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.