We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must dine here in Gold Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NoMI

NoMI
800 N Michigan Ave, Park Hyatt Hotel, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)
(312) 239-4030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
NoMI is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Chicago Avenue / Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Must dine here in Gold Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Friends recommended NoMi, located at the Park Hyatt at Chicago and Michigan. What a great view. You have the span onto the Magnificent Mile, Lake Michigan, Water Tower Place and so much for. We went for lunch. They have great sandwiches- muffulatta and roasted duck. Next time I want to try the chicken salad. Sushi is on the menu too.
Next time we have visitors in Chicago, I can't wait to take them here. And I want to come back in summer and sit outside.
Red line: Chicago & State
Open table too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at NoMI, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing NoMI Kitchen. We are pleased to hear that you had such a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to join us after May 5th, when the garden opens to enjoy the sunshine and our new summer cocktail menu!

Regards,

Amanda Fritz
NoMI Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    85
    39
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
“Get the hot chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

If you like chocolate this place is worth a visit. I had a great hot chocolate that you get to add some extras to at the chordate bar like homemade chocolate marshmallows, chocolate straws, another other great condiments. I had the chcolate cake with mousse and it was amazing. The chcolate homemade ice cream was outstanding. Service was average, not over the top which I was hopeful for from this location. The view is great on the 7th floor however the funky 60's like chairs were not too comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I normally dine here once a year when in Chicago for a conference in December. I have never been disappointed. Beautiful room, spectacular view, expansive wine list and imaginative menu. A wonderful destination for first rate dinning experience that exceeds the norm even by Chicago standards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Private dining room overlooking the Watertower. 5 course menu. Each course was amazing. Wonderful portion sizes, flavors, textures, complexity - delicious. Chestnut soup, poached pear salad, roasted chicken, prime rib and dark milk chocolate cream. Service was impeccable. Ambience was a perfect mix of upscale power, refinement and comfortable all at the same time. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decadent Hot Cocoa Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We love to bring the kids here for their hot cocoa bar - 3 flavors of homemade marshmallows, chocolate straws, toppings galore! And the NoMi burger is absolutely the best burger ever and is served with delicious rosemary fries (worth the $21 price tag). Add a glass of Chardonnay and a window table and you can't beat this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NoMI also viewed

 

Been to NoMI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NoMI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.