We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and Classic Italian Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scarola

La Scarola
721 W Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60610 (West Loop)
(312) 243-1740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Loop
arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic and Classic Italian Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It reminds me of an old Italian movie.. Quaint, busy, loud with a room full of smiling satisfied faces.. The food had so much taste. You could tell its cooked fresh with some old class charm..our waiter was great, service was excellent, from the time we ordered until we received our food was about an hour but the taste certainly made up for the wait. You won't be disappointed at La Scarola if your looking for a quaint, loud, close table seating, great food and excellent service, this would be your place.. I would recommend reservations...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    70
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Old School Italian Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

You can't go wrong here. It is an old school Chicago italian restaurant. The atmosphere and the food are fairly authentic. Worth going to for sure. It can be heavy so not an everyday spot but good for a visit a couple times a year. Make sure to make reservations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The best Italian in Chicago. Not fancy but fresh and so good, you cant stop eating. The place is sort of a dump, but its crazy busy and the smells coming from the kitchen are supurb. 3 small rooms, great waiters, always calm, help you order, there are specials everyday and a regular menu, you cant go wrong. The mussels are the best, the saugage and peppers are great and all the specials are top notch. I go here once a week and never get tired of this place. For Italian, this is the place, make sure you have a reservation, its very busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We walked from our hotel on a bitter cold night. We didn't realize how far it was but we loved it. Will be back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tremendous fresh food - HUGE portions (almost MUST share ) - always crowded so be prepared for a wait possibly in the bar next door but it's worth it..

Incredible value for money especially when you share dishes

Great people watching and atmosphere...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Scarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scarola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.