We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmine's

Carmine's
1043 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-1227 (Gold Coast)
312-988-7676
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmine's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #279 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Bellvue
Transit: El, Red Line at Clark / Division; 36 Broadway Bus
Saint John, Indiana
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Taste Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed Carmine's, the restaurant is located in a busy area. Had the chicken Parmesan, very taste. Restaurant gets very busy, we like to dine early to avoid the crowds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    156
    131
    50
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is a mess.. the server took forever and she was unable to get our order right the first time. The food was not good. Stay away.. the manager did nothing for us. Will not be back. Stay away! !!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, great atmosphere, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to a great Italian meal at the end of our USA trip and Carmine''s didn't disappoint. The waiter was very helpful, explaining the specials, making recommendations regarding wine and bringing some tasty bread which was served with olive oil and parmesan. We shared an appetiser of grilled seafood in a balsamic dressing. It was very unusual but very tasty. We then shared a main meal of the rich meat ragu pasta. It was very hearty and excellent. We had a gelato at the small ice creamery just outside in the outdoor area near the fountain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“You need to book to be sure of a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

On my recent trip to Chicago eat there twice - once upstairs for dinner and the second time on the pavement terrace for lunch.

Each time the food was very good and the service spot on - lovely mixture of humour and deference.

Clearly this is a very popular restaurant and it was very busy on both occasions.

Would return without hestiation

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I go here all the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one of my absolute favorite Italian restaurants in all of Chicago. Extremely experienced wait staff, managers will bend over backwards to accommodate special requests, and I love the outdoor seating in the summer. The standard favorites, including Chicken Vesuvio, brick chicken, fried calamari, eggplant salad - they really are all spectacular. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's also viewed

 

Been to Carmine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.