We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for friends to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Spoke

Twisted Spoke
501 N Ogden Ave, Chicago, IL 60642-6422 (West Town)
312-666-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #458 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: West Town
WDC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place for friends to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of my favorite places to relax with friends - great menu, good selection of beers, great bloddy mary's... no complaints here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hits The Spot Anytime & Everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ladies roof deck lunch party... Of course fabulous bloody mary menu/homemade mix, with a beer chaser. Had the best chicken curry salad! Friends had shrimp po'boy, breakfast tacos, & bbq chicken sandwich...all large portions & very tasty. Great service & great funky ambiance. Cant wait to return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
“Beer, Food and Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had a late lunch at Twisted Spoke, a friend who works in the city brought me there. It looks kind of funky on the outside, but the real charm is inside. The beer selection is really good, and I had a bloody mary that was tasty and included meat, a pickle and beer. The server was friendly and attentive, and our drinks and foods came out pretty quickly. The food was excellent as well, I had a fried egg and bacon sandwich that was huge and came with some decent fries. My buddy got a burger, it was huge and he said it was delicious. But the best part of the meal was the bacon tempura. I had never heard of bacon tempura, or even in my wildest bacon dreams imagined that someone would create/invent bacon tempura. It was the culinary highlight of my trip to Chicago. Delicious fried bacon, tempura breaded and then deep fried again, and served with a tasty dipping sauce.

If you're close and looking for lunch/brunch you should check this place out, and if you're not close but you love bacon you should also check this place out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Appetizers Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Instead of ordering huge meals for lunch, my son, his girlfriend & I ordered 4-5 appetizers which proved to be way too much food!
As deliscious as it was we just could not eat it all, so we took it home!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Rustic Diner With Tasty Abundant Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter recommended this place near her work. It's in an industrial part of Chicago - mostly wholesale meatpacking and produce establishments. The diner is supposed to represent a mechanic's garage because there are many used car and motorcycle parts laying around and hung on the walls. We had a umbrella table (picnic table) on the roof of the building. The menu was a clipboard with several loose-leaf pages of food and drinks selections; the first several pages were mostly beer choices. The four of us ordered a varied selection. My wife had the fish & chips which was twice as much as she could eat. I had the daily lunch special which was a hamburger cooked to my specification, loaded with choice of cheese and condiments. Fries and a beer came with the reasonable $10 price tag. It was and interesting experience with good food. I'd come back here if visiting near my daughter's workplace again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Spoke also viewed

 

Been to Twisted Spoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Spoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.