We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sail the Seas to Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Islands Restaurant

Greek Islands Restaurant
200 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60661-5489 (West Loop)
312-782-9855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 7,739 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: West Loop
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sail the Seas to Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

In Chicago, it's difficult to find bad Greek food in Greektown. Greek Islands further proves that mantra, but their food is quite awesome! Their saganaki and calamari are out of this world. Their gyros are a league of their own. Dining outside is a pleasure. Eat and sail your way to a great meal Greek style at the Islands.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    171
    54
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food in a lively setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Have not been back to Greek Islands in over 20 years since I lived in Chicago. Wanted to share the experience with my daughter and was not disappointed. We visited on a Friday night and the place was hopping. We did not have a reservation and only had to wait 30 minutes for a table.

We started off with scordalia ( ground garlic paste) and saganaki ( flaming cheese). We also split the Greek salad and a half order of moussaka and gyros ( you can create your own combo.

Our table was not great ( near the bathroom) but the service and overall atmosphere was better than expected . Will return next time we are in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You Go, You Eat, You Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Every Year on Sunday night during The NRA show a group of us dines at the best Greek restaurant in Greek Town (and Chicago), Greek Islands. Some of us are Greeks and picky about restaurant Greek food, but we have never had better anywhere in the USA! Great servers, incredible lamb chops, grilled octopus, spanakopita , etc. Noisy? Of course. Only great Greek restaurants are noisy because there are REAL Greeks eating there! Warning: make a reservation or the wait can be long!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment of Greek proportion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This restaurant is average at it's absolute best. I ordered the catch of the day which was Mediterranean Seabass. The fish was extremely bland, under seasoned, and did not taste remotely fresh. The bus boy had to take my desert order because the waiter was nowhere to be found. I have given this place numerous chances and they consistently underwhelming or disappointment. Do not waste your time trying this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Dale, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“truly the best greek food I have eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

it was an amazing meal. everything was good. Sadly it has been over two weeks since I was there and I can't remember the names of the foods. I do remember the Lima Beans and the Okra. I hate Okra, I loved this Okra. The lima beans were to die for. Also very surprising the sausage was just awesome I really don't think of greek food and sausage but there it was. We also had a bottle (well actually two) of a very nice dry greek wine. All in All a very good experience that I highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Islands Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.