We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun food in Greek Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Islands Restaurant

Greek Islands Restaurant
200 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60661-5489
312-782-9855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun food in Greek Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always busy and always fun to have dinner in this restaurant (good lunch as well). Moderately priced and the feel of family. The atmosphere is a loud but the service is always well done -- can be too quick sometimes. We opted for the fresh sea bass and it was good as always -- at $18.95 probably the single most expensive item. Excellent appetizers, good Greek wine and OOPA

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    157
    53
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go to the ISLANDS!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We hit Greek Islands on Thanksgiving weekend with a a group of family members. We enjoyed the hour wait in the packed bar area. Waiters came around frequently to take drink orders. Very Energetic and loud.

We did the family style meal. Everyone loved the spinach pie, saganaki, gyros and chicken. The lamb was less exciting. Roasted vegetable side was also very good. Balklava and galaktoboureko were amazing. The third item on the dessert plate was named "dried out greek cake" by one of our party.

We are not a hard drinking crew, so the bill was under $200 for 6 of us with a generous tip. Service was fast and plentiful.

Go to the ISLANDS!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pushy and not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I scoped this place out ahead of time for my colleagues and I, but I wish I had opted for Santorini instead... Our waiter was incredibly pushy, trying to up-sell us even after we said no numerous times. The food was only so-so (except the saganaki; but if you screw up flambéed cheese, you deserve to be castigated in a public forum). As a Greek and someone who's been back to the motherland, I expected SO much more from one of the highest rated Greek restaurants in CHICAGO of all places...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powersj2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the family style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A group of friends and i went there to celebrate a birthday and had a great experience. We ordered the family style meal, and it was more than enough food for all of us, and great to try a variety of different greek dishes. The service was also incredible, fast, personable, and knowledgeable. Ask for John, he is the best!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Interesting and different option for business group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I went here with a business group of 12. We did a family style meal and it was fun for all to try new and different things. Good casual option.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Islands Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.