We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Find in Trendy Bucktown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Lucky

Club Lucky
1824 W Wabansia Ave, Chicago, IL 60622-1537 (Wicker Park / Bucktown)
+1 773-227-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Club Lucky is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #272 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Vegan, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Cross street: Honore St.
Transit: Damen stop on the CTA Blue Line. Clybourn stop on Metra. Buses: 72 North Ave, 9 Ashland Ave, & 50 Damen Ave.
Description: Club Lucky features the hearty pastas, fresh seafood and classic dishes of Southern Italy, and Sicily; not forgetting to mention Chicago classics such as Chicken Vesuvio. Our house specialties range from daily handmade stuffed pastas to perfectly grilled steaks & chops. A mainstay in the Bucktown/Wicker Park area for over 20 years, upon entering you find brick walls, formica tables, and oversized Naugahyde booths that provide a genuine design element to complement “grandmother's recipes” on the Italian menu. All sauces & pastas are made on-site, and each recipe is made with what the Owners call “a little bit of love.” Some of the most sought-after dishes are the Lamb Chops, Antipasti Platters and Spinach Lasagna. Desserts are all housemade as well, with the profiteroles being the most popular. Our atmosphere is casual, the portions are generous and the prices are reasonable. Club Lucky is perfect for a romantic date night or a large gathering of friends and family. Good Food and Fun!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Find in Trendy Bucktown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Sat outside chatting with the locals on a beautiful evening.
Good food, good martini's in a cool neighborhood

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    16
    15
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“How times have changed, as in kids city, and $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I had not been here in at least 7-8 years, always like the place, so met some friends at 7pm for dinner there, it was mostly families with small children, even kids in the bar. So, go after 8pm I guess.

The I open the menu, and the entrees are all $18??? Umm, this place is the price of Hugos and Tavern on Rush now? Give me a break, but the value left the room, this is now fine dining according to menu. I guess the amount of ranger rover folks living in the now gentrified area are easy suckers. Yes the food is very good, but $18 for an entree at Club Lucky?

Everyone enjoyed their meals, no complaints there, but had I known this was the price level, I would of picked a dozen other places to blow cash on Pasta dishes...

Service was very good too...just dont trip over the kids running about.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome shrimp linguine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went to Club Lucky for the first time last weekend. Great hot fresh bread and the linguine with shrimp was to die for. And you also can't go wrong with their martinis! Loved the atmosphere. Felt like we were living in the 1940s. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Families, lovers and neighborhood hipsters are lucky to dine here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I dashed in for dinner and decided to eat in the bar instead of the spacious diningroom. Bar has a great jukebox and red leather banquette booths. We highly recommend the vegetarian antipasti filled to the brim with a delicious grilled eggplant, onions, zucchini and other savory delights. Shared an order of ribs with a BBQ sauce that was sweet and sour with an emphasis on vinegar. All good. Over the years, we have enjoyed pasta of all kinds and many other delicious offerings. A great place to go with friends. Summertime sidewalk seating on quiet street.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fun atmosphere, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Enter Club Lucky through the bar door. Squeeze past the patrons and you're ushered into the dimly lit dining area. This is a great place to bring a date on a weekend night or a late-night weekday. They have excellent food, good service, and a club-like atmosphere.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Lucky also viewed

 

Been to Club Lucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Lucky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.