We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just plain awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tufanos Vernon Park Tap

Tufanos Vernon Park Tap
1073 W Vernon Park Pl, Ste 1, Chicago, IL 60607-3410 (University Village / Little Italy)
312-733-3393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #760 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: University Village / Little Italy
London, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Just plain awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had not been in a few years. The restaurant has changed a bit, but the food hasn't. Nice outdoor patio. Judy our server was so much fun and a great help with our choices.

The eggplant is the best I've ever had. The salad is amazing and so was the smell of the Lemon Chicken from the table next to us.

Thanks for a great evening...nice to go back and find the same great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Real Chicago - family style, non-nonsense southern Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

When the late (original) Mayor Richard J Daley wanted Italian food, he'd head for Tufano's. When he decided to bulldoze half of Chicago's Italian community around Taylor Street to make way for the University of Illinois-Chicago, the bulldozers stopped about four doors east of Tufano's, sparing the restaurant. When the third generation of the family took over the restaurant, Joey expanded beyond the original dining room which was tucked in behind the bar - but he didn't change the food! Tufano's has a comfortable, noisy dining room with a side patio and private dining room in the back. Families with roots in the neighborhood come in from the suburbs to eat here. The menu is still written on blackboards and it's all cash. I once asked a waitress how the baked eggplant was prepared and she looked at me and said, "wit' red gravy!" That's all you need to know. But here are a couple of tips: you only need special salad for one to feed a table of four; the chicken Tufano's (used to be called Chicken Vesuvio but there must have been some kind of copyright hassle) is great - ask for the bone-in version which used to be the only version - baked with tons of olive oil, garlic, and sliced lemons; all the regular pastas - with sausage of meatballs (red sauce) or shells and broccoli (garlic but no sauce) - are ample portions and very tasty. There is a wine list but we always have the house red or chianti. If it's summer, you might want to skip dessert and go over to Mario's lemonade stand on Taylor Street afterwards. I've been to Tufano's a million times, but I'm writing this review today in homage to my mother-in-law who died this past weekend and introduced me to this real Chicago treasure. No reservations - just show up! It's a little bit out of the way - on a dead end street just south of Harrison & Racine - the valet is free, but give the guy a big tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“To me, this is Chicago....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I love Chicago...it's a mecca for truely good restaurants...I love Gene and Georgetti......there's a lot of good restaurants in Chicago....but you can't beat Tufanos...its not fancy...its just good...the kind of good that makes it stand out in a town full of outstanding restaurants..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simple True Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This resturant is in a residencial area and almost no signs. Busy, loud, simple, menu on the wall.....and outstanding true Italian food. Had the eggplant pamesan.........excellent. By far the best Italian Food I had...Price $ 15 - 20 per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My visit to Tufanos' was June 26, 2013. The menu is was written on a chalkboard on the wall. As I dined with a large group of people, the meal was served family style. The bread was crunchy on the outside and soft inside. The salad came tossed with an Italian dressing. The chicken was roasted and served with thin potatoes almost like chips. The meatballs were the size of baseballs. The pasta had a nice and light marinara sauce, not too heavy.

As mentioned in other posts, the parking was valet and the restaurant only accepts cash.
My dinner was $14 including tax and tip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tufanos Vernon Park Tap also viewed

 

Been to Tufanos Vernon Park Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tufanos Vernon Park Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.