We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Millenium Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giordano's

Giordano's
135 E Lake St, Chicago, IL 60601-5977 (Downtown / The Loop)
(312) 616-1200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #582 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Gonzales, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very close to Millenium Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's in a good location if you are at the park and want a true Chicago style deep dish. It's just across the street from the north end. The restaurant was clean and the service was good. It took a good 30-40 minutes to get the pizza, so definitely don't go if you are in a hurry. I suppose I wasn't prepared for how much cheese is really in a deep dish pizza, so it took me by surprise and I almost couldn't eat it. Seriously, a large bite of this pizza is 95% mozzarella cheese and 5% everything else. A whole mouthful of cheese in every bite! Regardless, the flavor of the pizza was very good, I loved the crust, and although we ordered a small for my husband and I, we had plenty to take home.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    130
    54
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow....THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have tried a lot of pizza in Chicago.....you cannot beat Giordano's!!! The service was excellent! Plan accordingly because the deep dish pizza takes 40 minutes but it is worth every morsel of cheesy goodness to wait for it!!! Highly recommend!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A delicious diet-buster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

With a taste just like I remembered from 25 years ago, there are now Giordano's all over Chicago. It's still a 40 minute wait for the cooked-to-order pizza; the tomato sauce is tangy and the pepperoni spicy. The salads are all serviceable, and the decor pretty tacky, but honestly, you're there for the crazy stuffed pizza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I bought a small Chicago Classic Deep Dish Pizza from the take out menu which was magnificent. The wait for it was 40 minutes but was well worth it. Although it was small I only managed to eat half before having to give up. Everyone should try one of these at least once.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deep Dish Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Visited for an early dinner with coworkers during an out of town conference. It was within short walking distance from our hotel, the Hyatt Regency. We placed our orders while waiting for a table. The small pizza will definitely feed 2-3 people. The pizza was good but not great. My coworker said it reminded her of cheesesticks. The mozzerella was good. Although my pizza had green peppers, pepperoni, onions and mushrooms, it really lacked flavor, even after adding crushed red pepper. We were glad to have had deep dish pizza while in town but can't say I'd go back. I've had better deep dish pizza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giordano's also viewed

 

Been to Giordano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giordano's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.