We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wings ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jake Melnick's Corner Tap

Jake Melnick's Corner Tap
41 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)
312-266-0400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #202 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs, Hamburgers, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best wings ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

A very fun place to be with friends and eating wings and drinking beer. Don't just try the traditional wings. I loved the peanut butter and jelly wings! Very innovative twist and taste's excellent. Casual and fun.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    134
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The smell of good food greats you as you enter the restaurant. It was a busy Saturday night, but our wait was only 10 minutes. The food portions were large and great beer selection. The service was good. The sloppy pig did not disappoint. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good food served by friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I felt right at home at Jake’s when the waitress dropped a “Be right with you hon,” and an “Anything else sweetheart?” No she wasn’t a transplanted Southerner, but from northern Indiana, who admittedly didn’t talk like Chicagoans. It put a smile on my face as did the food. I ordered a bbq pork sandwich from the fast casual menu. It’s served with a heaping pile of fries and some slaw in a cute metal pan. I saw some fabulous salads go by, too, lunch specials for around $7.

Jake’s has a casual bar food feel, a well thought out concept that delivers some pretty tasty grub. Walk a couple of blocks away from the slick towers of Michigan Ave. to find this corner tap that would be at home in any Midwestern town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great wings and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Checked into the Peninsula Hotel and needed a beer and a bite. The concierge recommended Jake Melnick's down the street, and he didn't steer me wrong. The bartender Michelle recommended a couple of beers to me and I was a happy camper. I loved the wing combo I ordered, which was 1/2 buffalo and 1/2 grilled wings. Two wings up for Jakes!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

On a weekend trip to Chicago we stopped at Jake Melnick's for a sandwich and discovered their Florentine Mac and Cheese. It is made with chicken, mushrooms, artichokes and a crumb crust. Served baked in a wroughtiron skillet-very good. Also at our table, devoured was the brisket hash skillet. This was generous portions of brisket atop braised potatoes and served with eggs, also in a wrought iron skillet. The brisket was delicious. Bloody Mary's, $5.00 special on Sundays, were also quite good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake Melnick's Corner Tap also viewed

 

Been to Jake Melnick's Corner Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake Melnick's Corner Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.