We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebud on Rush

Rosebud on Rush
720 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-2504 (Near North Side)
312-266-6444
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosebud on Rush is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #460 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Superior
Transit: The Red Line's Chicago stop is .2 mile to the North West.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We originally wanted to eat at Giordanos, but their wait was 1 hour and 20 minutes. Not wanting to wait that long, we headed over to Rosebud. The wait was only 20-30 minutes. We sat that the bar and enjoyed some pre-dinner cocktails. Dinner was delicious. We ordered the fried calamari. It's not as good Coco Pazzo Cafe. The spaghetti and meatballs was very good. It came with two gigantic meatballs. I wasn't able to finish it. Overall, a very good Italian restaurant that is centrally located to everything.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    196
    80
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alvarado, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Must have gone on a bad day ???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

What a big disappointment! The Caprese was excellent, bread fresh but the pasta and dessert were terrible. I ate very little of both. The service was great and atmosphere very quaint Italian. I wouldn't go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Chicago Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We ate here for lunch and it was great, the veal parm was delicious and the mini meatball sandwiches were fabulous!!

A great choice when shopping on Michigan ave. since it is only a block away on rush st.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Not quite there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ate here twice in a week, based on a recommendation from a local guy.

The service was excellent aside from one waiter who though her was quite upperclass and cleaver. His attitude was a negative distraction rather than an addition to the evening.

The italian food is just not all that. We gave this place a second go as we could not find another reservation with short notice and we were already in the downstairs bar for a few drinks.

If they focused more on quality than quantity, this place could justify the price tags rather than rely on being in a busy location only.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We wanted to go somewhere that had both steak and pasta (something for the 2 of us) and settled on Rosebud. The building is classic Chicago and remided me of the prohibition and mafia days. We made a resevation at 3pm Saturday for 6pm (same day) and we are glad we did. It was very busy with a long wait outside. We arrived 20 minutes early and were seated promptly. We went upstairs and it was almost too noisy. We had to shout to hear eachother, as did the others around us which made the dinner less special. The food was unbeatable though. Extremely tender meats and impecable sauces. I would go here again in a heartbeat. The prices weren't that bad either for a nice sit-down place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosebud on Rush also viewed

 

Been to Rosebud on Rush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebud on Rush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.