We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Britian in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 236-6656
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #817 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, English, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A bit of Britian in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

British food at it's best. There are many good restaurants in the City and this is one of them, not gourmet but very good. My favorite was their pot pie. Breakfast was good at a reasonable price and the coffee Excellent. Their happy hour is busy and fun.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    129
    54
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Elephant & Castle was adjacent to the hotel we stayed at, so very convenient. We enjoyed 2 breakfasts and an after dinner drink while watching the Tigers! The Castle Benedict with fruit was so delicious!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, pleased our crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had 4 adults and 4 children and everyone left full and happy. I had the Mahi-Mahi Tacos, they were excellent. Other had the lamb burger, club sandwich, and salads. Menu has a nice range of traditional items and standard bar food with a few nice twists. I think it would be hard for someone not to find a choice. Sweet potato fries are a must! Prices were reasonable, service was good - we were there at a slow time between lunch and dinner. They have outdoor seating if the weather holds up. Only complaint is they need more then a 1 person bathroom!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“With so many better places to eat in Chicago......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Frankly, if this were not attached to The Avenue Crowne Plaza hotel, it would never stay in business. The dining competition in Chicago is too fierce.
Limited menu, mediocre food. Do yourself a favor and eat someplace else.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just ok English Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had some drinks there. Service is slow-ish, food is ok. Nothing spectacular. A typical bar.

Decent choices for beers. Not too many. Can get rather loud, but this is a bar, right? Of course, we, sitting at the table, did want to hear each other talk :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.