We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For fans of mafia style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exchequer Restaurant & Pub

Exchequer Restaurant & Pub
226 S Wabash Ave, Frnt, Chicago, IL 60604 (Downtown / The Loop)
312-939-5633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Hamburgers, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“For fans of mafia style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The restaurant is nothing special, but it drew a skillful use of historical ties to the Chicago mob, and in particular Al Capone in the restaurant and entertainment business in the years of the greatest flowering of the gangster world, and why not now.The interior is typical of a pub, but is decorated with newspaper clippings, posters, paintings and objects from this vreme.Ima Tommy gun and over the bar.
In the same style are menus, napkins and other small items around the tables.
There are several varieties of beer, and some of them have very interesting names, such as Eliot Ness, others have done very well to taste. Food is also mafia folklore, but is far from the Italian-Italian. Rather, it is an Italian-American.
Regarding service - has a lot to be desired. The waiter with the kind of low-level gangster poured a beer on my colleague, but otherwise very trying. Obviously, this goes with the whole atmosphere.
In general, a former recommend a visit, at least for interesting experience and good beer, which is not common in American pubs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    103
    33
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not anything special”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We visited Chicago from Arizona and were looking for a great memorable meal! To make a long story short the service was poor.. Our server didn't even smile, we didn't feel very welcome. We only ate the food because we were both starving..even then we barely finished anything at all. Not anything special! If you only have a short time in Chicago skip this place.. Not worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We ate here burgers and drank some beer. The burgers were excellent and we liked the genuine atmosphere of the pub. The prices are a bit high.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great value in good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Around the corner from our Hotel and a 30 hour transit, a welcome respite in an otherwsie lacklustre offering of eateries.
The atmosphere is welcoming and earthy, a typical pub atmosphere, where you can see right into the kitchen.
The service was average but the food was above average American style Ribs, burgers etc.
We had the Ribs and Wings, and salad.
We requested the sauce on the side and a good decision as we controlled the slathering and could appreciate the tenderness of the meat.
The Wings were spicy and well cooked without being overdone as can often be the case.
In summary a good meal at less than $50.00 with drinks....it speaks for itself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Pizza with quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This place was right around the corner from our hotel (Palmer House). Pretty decent pizza for our threesome. Service was good as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exchequer Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Exchequer Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exchequer Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.