We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exchequer Restaurant & Pub

Exchequer Restaurant & Pub
226 S Wabash Ave, Frnt, Chicago, IL 60604 (Downtown / The Loop)
312-939-5633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 7,738 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Hamburgers, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was in town for a show at the Auditorium and found this place within walking distance. Very nice surprise. Food, service and atmosphere were very good.Definately recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    103
    33
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent! Great atmosphere and better yet Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! Great atmosphere and better yet Pizza and service. My wife and I were referred to eat here by the bellman at our hotels.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheque this one out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This pub is a winner in my book. The bartender Vicky kept all of us fed and our drinks filled. Tom the manager was wonderful in explaining the history of the pub. The atmophere has a hint of old Chicago with Al Capone & Tommy guns on the wall with great old style Chicago pub experience.
My friends and I shared a deep dish pizza that was perfectly cooked and the sampler plates(wings, cheese sticks, poppers & dipping sauces) were perfect with the beers and a great choice pick for a pub crawl. Grab some Chicago brewed beers here too!
I'll make this a place to visit when I'm downtown.

Bottom Line: Ya wanna taste a chicago? start here. Prices are reasonable and the staff friendly. You'll enjoy it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly bar with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was in town on business and after my group of locals caught their trains, I wanted a nice place with real food. I had been here 8 years ago and enjoyed. I had the cajun chicken alfredo that really hit the spot. The locals were friendly as was the bar tender. Highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice atmosphere and good variety of food on offer. The location is good (a block behind Michigan) and easy to walk to. Food was well presented and tasty, service was fine and beer selection had a good mix of decent beers along with some popular boutique options. Busy but not packed for a Friday night, and there seemed to be plenty of locals. Good value - we wil certainly come again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exchequer Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Exchequer Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exchequer Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.