We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
21 E Hubbard St, Chicago, IL 60611-3512
312-527-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shaw's Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State St.
Description: Big and Bustling, Shaw's Crab House stands as a monument to fish and seafood. Besides the usual popular dishes, Shaw's management team is passionate about presenting treats such as Pacific salmon, fresh king crab, and smelt during their short seasons. Reservations made through Open Table will be for Shaw's Main Dining Room. If you would like to dine in the Oyster Bar, all seating is on a first come first serve basis.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were in town for a long weekend. Went there on a Wednesday and we liked it so much we went back that Friday. Had King crab both times, second time the portion did seem smaller. Had perch the first time, was pretty good, though could have been served a bit warmer. Second time had twin lobster tails. They were perfect

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    400
    113
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had dinner here last Saturday night which was really busy, the service was really good and the seafood was excellent. It is not cheap but both myself and my husband could not rate the food any higher. The food is not cheap but it is well worth the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Definitely worth the hype and the visit. Great location, great seafood, great service, great atmosphere. You can't go wrong here. The crabcakes, oysters, fish and appetizers were excellent. Our server was really friendly and didn't rush anything. The atmosphere is dark, but open in the main dining room. Then they have the 50's style diner area with music as well. I would definitely go back for a nice upscale seafood dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great lounge, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrived at Shaw's on a Thursday at about 9pm. There was still seating available in the dinning room, but we decided on the lounge area for the more relaxed setting (we are in our mid-thirties). The menu was great for a seafood lover and has options for those who prefer land meats.

I started with a house salad and I must say, I thought I was going to throw it at a wall when it arrived. It was a very poor salad (literally, one piece of cucumber, 4 grape tomatoes and way too much oily dressing). Then, I had the white fish with a horseradish crust (perhaps a tad over cooked) but delicious none the less. She likes to sample an entire menu when dinning. On this night, she had lobster bisque soup (awesome), capris salad (I thought that was a lame choice, but she liked it), steamed clams (good again) and 1/2 dozen oysters. The oysters were amazing. Simple presentation, good sauces and very fresh.

All in all, she was very impressed and I was more than satisfied. A good choice for food

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ate here on a Friday evening - we had not made a reservation so had to wait 55 minutes for a table but you can have a drink in the bar area whilst you wait. It was worth the wait - the service and the food were excellent. This is a busy and bustling restaurant with lots of atmosphere. We both had the Fish Cake and shared Seasonal Vegetables and the Sweet Corn & Cheese Pudding, followed by the Peach & Raspberry Cobbler with Vanilla ice cream. All the food was delicious. We would eat here again and would recommend making a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw's Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.