We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant neighborhood pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hackney's

Hackney's
733 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)
(312) 461-1116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #790 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: The Loop
Oakley, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant neighborhood pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had dinner at Hackney's primarily because it was very close to our hotel and is apparently a Chicago classic. We found the food acceptable if not particularly memorable, and there were several good craft beers on tap. We enjoyed the sidewalk dining, and lingered over another beer just because it was so pleasant. With so many great restaurants in Chicago we might not choose to visit here again, but it was certainly a nice evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    21
    29
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Delicious food and very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My daughter and I ate here twice during our visit to Chicago. Both times the food was delicious. I had the Steak and Bleu Cheese Salad and my daughter had a chicken bacon sandwhich with French fries. The restaurant gets very busy so get there before 6:30. We had to wait about 15 minutes but once we were seated the service was very fast and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“felt like I had found a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were directed here by the worker at Sandemeyer's bookstore and it was a great recommendation. Not only were there over 30 different craft brews on tap, they had terrific food and a calm outdoor eating area without a lot of traffic. I had a pannini that I have to learn to make because of the flavor profile of gruyere cheese, apple slices, and course cut ham. We thoroughly enjoyed this stop and had great service to boot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhood joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We live in the neighborhood and eat here at least 2x per month. Great little neighborhood joint, good solid, unpretentous food. Reasonable price point.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Famous for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hackneys famous burger, done medium rare on their daily homemade dark rye bread w/ their french style friend onions. Been around since 1939 and my tummy understood why!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hackney's also viewed

 

Been to Hackney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hackney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.