We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North
439 N Wells St, Chicago, IL 60610-4512
312 828 9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 7,739 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Hollis, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'm not too crazy about deep dish pizza so I can't say that I love what Chicago is famous for.......but Lou Malnati's has a really great thin crust pizza that my family and I loved. Staff was courteous and place was clean.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    436
    170
    46
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Deep Dish Pizza in Chicago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went there during my trip to Chicago with my friends/family last week and by far it exceeded expectations! Would highly recommend. I would call ahead since it seems like there is usually a 1-2 hour wait on weekends.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“1 of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is one of the best Chicago deep-dish pizza places. Thankfully, it is a little less expensive than Giordano's and a little less crowded.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

First of all, you can pre-order your pizza. When we placed our name on the waiting list, the hostess did not explain this. So we did not know that you can order your pizza, so that your wait to be seated and your wait for your pizza is rolled into one long wait.

We were seated in about an hour. We ordered the Malnati salad which was very good. However, when our deep dish pizza came, it was not hot. It was just warm. Hmmm, we did not pre-order, so not sure why. Also, the pizza has a pie crust. I mean it tasted like the pre-made crust that you buy in the grocery for blueberry pies. And then most of the time, tasted like uncooked dough.

Sorry, if this is what a great chicago deep dish pizza should taste like, then I am just not a fan.

Our server was nice though and kept our drinks refilled.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Borderline average, not to my taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Service was quick. Garlic bread was quite dry and barely toasted. The pizza itself was quite yeasty in taste, soggy base, too much cheese but the tomato and sausage was flavoursome.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.