We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North
439 N Wells St, Chicago, IL 60610-4512
312 828 9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews here and based on our hotel's advice my husband and I decided to get delivery to our hotel from Lou's (it was a rainy day in Chicago). The service of the girl on the phone and the guy who delivered was great however the pizza left me disappointed. We had "the Lou" and it was pretty bland. The house salad was good and the prices are reasonable but I wish the pizza was tastier.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    399
    152
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I love New York pizza but wanted to try Lou's because of all the rave reviews. The place is very busy and takes about 1/2 hour once you place your order. The pizza was not bad it just was not my favorite. We had a couple beers, cheese bread, pizza and leftovers for under $50 so it is a great value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Now that's a pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I can die happy after eating Lou Mainati's pizza. For the first time in my life I understood the reasoning behind people calling pizza a pie, this was a pie. The crust was butters and flaky and there was just so much cheese. I gained five pounds in Chicago, and it was worth it. GO HERE!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not disappointed !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was torn between Giordanos and Lous' because these were the two most talked about pizzerias when I asked around. We went with Lous 'because the bellman at our hotel said it too. The decor is very cool,and our service was prompt and friendly. They have an interesting drink menu which I like because I love trying new cocktails. Our pizza took about 30 min but they will tell you that beforehand. We ordered the deep dish pepperoni. The cheese was my favorite part. A small was enough for myself and my daughter. Would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Salad, good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Some people swear that Lou Maltini's has the best deep dish pizza in Chicago. I disagree. It is good, however I think the sauce could use more spices. The Maltini salad, however, is fantastic: a perfect blend of vegetables and black olives with a delicious salad dressing that is not excessive. The service was good and the ambience is average, but it gets very loud in the main dining area. I would return and order the salad, but not the pizza

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Malnati's Pizzeria - River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.