We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Due

Pizzeria Due
619 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2713 (Near North Side)
312-943-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #564 of 7,739 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are not used to Chicago style then this style is a bit of a shocker for you. I had it 19 years ago and tried it again this trip. Seems like a pizza loaded without a lot of flavor. Loaded with cheese. We got it to go and the small was as heavy as a brick, seriously. Good quality and nice place but definitely an acquired taste as far as I am concerned.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    209
    96
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pizza and hopping place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had lunch here and had the deep-dish Chicago-style pizza: sausage and mushrooms, with added topping of sliced tomatoes. Overall this pizza was very good, though instead of fresh sliced tomatoes the pizza appeared to be topped with tomato sauce. Despite that, it was very good. I was really impressed with the lunchtime line-ups, always a good indicator. The waitress knew her beers, and made a suggestion I was happy with.
I enjoyed the ambiance, and could tell there were locals here, not just tourists. Overall, I can recommend this place for lunch. Prices were very reasonable. Service friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a large group and the manager was very accommodating. We called ahead for a reservation and he helped us decide what to order so our pizzas would be ready 20 minutes after we arrived. It was perfect! The service was friendly, helpful, and very much capable of handling our group.
I will definitely return because of the service and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went to Uno I am guessing is the same people that own Due. The pizza was excellent and was as good as I had imagined it to be. only issue I had with it was that the sauce was full of tomato pieces and I am not a fan of that. But my family enjoyed it so that is just a personal thing and doesnt reflect on the quality. Once I removed most of the sauce, it was fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nommmmmmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Shanita was our server, and we loved her! She was very down to earth and understood our need to experience this place like a couple of classy dames.. her suggestions? The personal deep dish. I simply must return for the Pesto and 4 cheese pizza. That paired with Angry Orchard Apple Cider (and a shot of vodka) was the perfect pairing. The ambience is casual and warm, and the building itself has a great history. Another server, Aaron, filled us in... he's a hilarious and a great storyteller. Thanks to everyone there, we had a great experience and enjoyed the experience of a Chicago-style pizza!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Due also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Due, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.