We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine ur-Deep Dish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Due

Pizzeria Due
619 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2713 (Near North Side)
312-943-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #604 of 8,392 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fine ur-Deep Dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the second pizza restaurant started by the man who invented Pizzeria Uno (the chain) and deep dish pizza. It's in an old Victorian building that looks like a well-worn city restaurant--pizza was very good--I had vegetarian, salad fine, service good. If you area deep dish fan, this is perhaps where you should stop. But like all successful foods, this kind of pizza has zillions of variants nationwide. If this is what it tasted like in 1943, when, according to the restaurant's website, deep dish was invented, it is not what contemporary palates are used to--especially if those palates are from out of town. Best to enjoy it as it is, rather than expect something more familiar. I can say I wish my individual pizza had been a bit bigger--I should have ordered next size up--was quite good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    193
    91
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Busy... Worth the Wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have only been going there for deep dish pizza since 1964. My mouth waters just thinking about the sausage and tomato and cheese. Wow. I keep coming back each visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater, Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Both the Uno and Due restaurants were very busy so we gave our name, pre ordered pizza and went for a wander whilst we were waiting the 30/40 minutes or so before a table would be ready. We didn't get a table inside (it did seem quite small and crowded for the sort time we were in there confirming our name/order) our table was outside to the left as you look at the front of the building. As it was a warm evening wasn't too much of an issue.

We only ordered a medium margarita between to 2 of us and it was extremely tasty and certainly more than enough for 2 (in fact we took about a 1/3 of it away with us for later!). It was more expensive than other Pizza joints but the taste/history made it worth it as a treat.

Our server was a bit slow for the drinks/bill, but Pizza did arrive quite swiftly - not sure if they kept forgetting we were around the corner or if each server just had too many tables to cover each, she also seemed a little grumpy compared to those we have had in other places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great deep dish pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We waited a long time but it was worth it, I really liked the pizza because it tasted completely different than what I had before!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Durtiest restaurant ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Here follows the comment I left on the restaurant website. Awful experience!

I am really sorry to have to write a comment about my visit in your restaurant today but this experience was just awful and I wish I would never had entered your place.
The server first told us we would have to wait 45 min before our pizza would be ready so we decided to order appetizzers to wait but it appeared that several tables arrived after us but got served before us! It's probably marketing! This way the server gets a bigger tip... I don't know but I don't think this is correct.
That said, it's not what bothers me. This restaurant was really, REALLY durty!!! Floors and restrooms may be understandable for some people (but we should not forget that it's a restaurant) but when the server arrived with our pizza and started serving it the second plate was durty : tomato sauce all over it and wet napkin in it!!! It did not even bothered him, he did not apologized or changed plates. Were the other plates (the ones we ate in) clean? I don't know. It.s really hard to enjoy a meal when you are not even sure that the dishes are clean, so let me wonder about how it looks like in the kitchen!!!
When it was time to pay even the card holder was disguting, greasy and durty... Your place was a nightmare and for sure the most disguting restaurant I have ever entered. I will NOT recommend it at all!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Due also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Due, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.