We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal on Lunch Prix Fixe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird

Blackbird
619 W Randolph St, Chicago, IL 60661 (West Loop)
(312) 715-0708
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blackbird is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #428 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $100
Cuisines: French, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: West Loop
Cross street: Jefferson
Transit: Clinton Green Line; 56 Milwaukee Bus; 8 Halsted Bus; 20 Madison
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great deal on Lunch Prix Fixe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

For something like $22 we got a three course lunch Prix Fixe. What a great way to enjoy a Michelin rated restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    97
    47
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

For my birthday dinner this year my husband surprised me with reservations at Blackbird, a spot that has been on my Chicago restaurant hit list for quite some time now. The food was fantastic, as expected, the service was great, and I loved the clean, modern decor. I was a little worried that it would be a little on the stuffy side but it wasn't at all-beautiful but with a very relaxed vibe.

After a round of cocktails we ordered 3 appetizers, because we just couldn't decide on 2! We had crispy suckling pig, fried frog legs, and a salad of endives and crispy potatoes topped with a poached egg. The suckling pig was very tasty and I loved the bright components of the boneless frog legs dish, but my favorite was definitely the salad of endives. The presentation is beautiful (they cut it up for you table side) and the flavors are fresh and everything works perfectly together.

For mains my husband ordered the striploin and I ordered the lamb saddle. The striploin was served with a seaweed pesto that made the dish very unique and the lamb was just all-around delicious.

At this point we were pretty stuffed but of course there's always room for dessert! We ordered the dark chocolate brownie that was insanely good and they also brought out a small plate of of birthday cake ice cream with chocolate and caramel and a little candle for my birthday. The perfect sweet ending to a fantastic dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is still the spot for a special dining experience, even after >12 years. Delicious, interesting food, but not "molecular gastronomy" (if that's your thing). Helpful, friendly, attentive service, all made it a delightful dinner. The one thing to know is that the volume can be high, so while one can have a conversation, it does take a bit of work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great experience but still hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We took the train to Chicago for the day with our main goal to eat at Blackbird for lunch. We both ordered the tasting menu and each of the items was fantastic! But boy were they small. Afterwards we joked about hitting the tasting menu at McDonalds. The other lunch items at other tables looked quite delicious and the appropriate size for lunch. I would strongly recommend Blackbird and even the tasting menu as long as you understand that you are paying quite well for the experience. The service was fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We made reservations and when we sat down to eat we were asked if we wanted the tasting menu or al la carte menu. One of us wanted tasting and one wanted to order from the regular menu. Unfortunately this restaurant chef is so strict that you can't do both at a table! So we did tasting...BIG MISTAKE! Completely overpriced and very odd tasting of a selection. If its not going to be your own choice, it shouldn't be so "off the wall." It made our dining experience a horrible one, being our last night in Chicago. Will never visit again! DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird also viewed

 

Been to Blackbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.