We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atwood is one of my favorite downtown restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atwood Cafe

Atwood Cafe
1 W. Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 368-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Atwood Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #444 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: State and Washington Streets
Transit: Red Line - Lake Blue line - Washington
Description: Atwood Café is an intimate, romantic, must dine Chicago classic restaurant adjacent to the world famous Burnham Hotel. (An Al Capone hangout) This is one of Chicago's most historical buildings located in the heart of Chicago's Central Business District. Only blocks away from Architectural river boat tours and directly along the State Street retail shopping circuit and the many Art’s of the theater district. Enjoy fresh, locally farmed ingredients while dining in our vibrant, must see, dining room. Chef Derek Simcik and our attentive staff offer excellent service, “contemporary” American comfort food in a memorable setting. Atwood Café is a Chicago staple, casual restaurant in the heart of the Loop, featuring a creative twist on what, in one time, was referred to as American comfort food. Come and ENJOY an inexpensive lunch, business breakfast, great brunch or fabulous intimate "one of a kind" dinner. Very close to tourist attractions too. See you there!
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Atwood is one of my favorite downtown restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went for brunch with a friend who is newly relocated to Printers Row. It was a busy Sunday morning so we ate at the bar. We started with a blood orange Mimosa and a spicy bloody Mary, then another! We ordered an omelette and French toast to share and both terrific. I am also a big fan of the decor and the Hotel Burnham in general. It's interesting and charming, appropriate for a business meal or a friendly brunch or dinner. People-watching through the full-length windows on State and Washington is also entertaining if you're dining alone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, General Manager at Atwood Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review...glad you enjoyed! Next time you drop by try the "Inferno Mary" - you will love it!

Damien Palladino
General Manager
damien.palladino@atwoodcafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    98
    99
    53
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food in excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went here with 3 friends for lunch while in town for a conference. We each had something different, and all were excellent with portions that left us all full (and two of us are big eaters!). Waitress was very helpful and the atmosphere is second to none with high ceilings and lots of glass overlooking the streets -- almost like you are outside (except not cold and rainy). Definitely a bit pricey but worth it for those looking for a great, exended dining experience with a diverse menu, great food, wonderful wine, and outstanding location and setting. Highly recommend to anyone in or visiting Chicago.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, General Manager at Atwood Cafe, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Scott! Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review on your experience at the Atwood Cafe! So pleased you and your friends enjoyed dining with us. Come back the next time you are in Chicago as we are like a fine wine...we only get better with age:)

Damien Palladino
General Manager
damien.palladino@atwoodcafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food and service were very good. Love the Sunday brunch! The burgers are really good, too. It's in a good location - we went there before a show and the servers made sure we got in and out on time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, General Manager at Atwood Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hawkeykids! Thanks for the nice review. The burger is killer:)
Hope to see you again soon!

Damien Palladino
General Manager
damien.palladino@atwoodcafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great service, waitress was very helpful - general manager was there to greet guests and the staff were very accommodating. Our waitress was even able to tell us about architects Atwood and Burnham! Oh! And the food was great. Tried the ramps! A fresh local cross between onion and garlic - beautifully presented and very flavorful - a must try- but hurry-it's seasonal The lamb shank was wonderful - more demi-glace, please!
Dessert was scrumptious - the persimmon bread pudding was very rich - but definitely great!
A fine dining experience for a visitor to Chicago, thanks for making it memorable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, General Manager at Atwood Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
WOW!
Thank your for such a great review! It certainly was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you next time you visit our fine city. Come back soon because those ramps are only available for a limited time.

Damien Palladino
General Manager
damien.palladino@atwoodcafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The Atwood Cafe at the Hotel Burnham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Since I was staying at the Burnham, I opted to have dinner the first night at the restaurant on the ground floor, the Atwood Cafe. Restaurants sometimes make a single customer feel out of place, but the host at the Atwood went out of his way to make me feel comfortable. I believe that his exact words were "Let me find you a really nice table." It was much appreciated, as was the food. I had a delicious rabbit scaloppine and a side of macaroni and cheese. The bar, though small, was a comfortable place to visit for a while, also, with a most entertaining barman and some nice house cocktails.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, General Manager at Atwood Cafe, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Austinex,

Thank you for writing such a kind review. It is important to us that you feel welcome and at home as a single diner. So many restaurants think oppositely and it drives me nuts!

Hope to see you again soon.

Damien Palladino
General Manager
damien.palladino@atwoodcafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atwood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Atwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atwood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.