We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant with great service and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab
60 E Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3533
312-379-5637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rush
Transit: Red Line Grand stop
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Had a very good lunch in this busy and lively restaurant. We did not have a reservation but were fitted in on bar stools by the window. Great service and atmosphere. Enjoyed a long lunch with background jazz music. Recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    363
    88
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must try their stone crabs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Walked a few blocks from our Magnificent Mile hotel and were seated in a quiet, large booth in the back. Our server tried to sway us to the most expensive options on the menu, but otherwise was helpful and attentive. The ahi tuna appetizer was a bit odd, arriving diced. Had we known, we would have passed on this. The Stone Crabs were succulent and sweet. A true hit! My husband let me try his Chilean Sea Bass with Miso Glaze and Bok Choy - another winner! The Lyonnaise potatoes and grilled asparagus were cooked to order. Our shared slice of coconut cream pie was a perfect ending. Our friends chose the key lime pie on this first visit, and since it's Joe's signature desert, it was on the house. A great evening out - delicous seafood. Will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sooo good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Was in Chicago for a vacation and visited Joe's for dinner on May 19, 2013.

The place was super packed. My husband and I had a reservation and had to wait an extra 10 minutes or so for our table. The tiny extra wait was worth it. The food here is amazing. It's pricey but well worth it. And the staff is wonderful. For appetizers, we shared the tuna tartare (amazing) and the chopped salad (delicious). For dinner we shares the dover sole (fantantic! - it was a special that day) and the steakfrites (filet mignon cooked to perfection that melts in your mouth). Our server was Darren and he was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and soooo friendly. He gave us a complimentary slice of key lime pie (which was mind-blowingly delicious!)

Next time I go to Chicago, this restaurant will be on my list of must-do's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois/STL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Late night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I arrived in Chicago late on a Thursday, hungry and seeking a good meal. Shaw's quit serving at 10pm so I tried Joe's. Fortunately, they serve late on the bar side. I had dined there before and it was just as good at a table in the bar as it had been in the restaurant. Very good service and great food (salad and crab cakes). Good wine selection too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing meal for Steak & Seafood lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The 1st night we were at Joe's we ate at the bar. The steak was disappointing as it was cold. My dover sole was fantastic. We booked the restaurant for 2 nights later as the atmosphere (mid-week) was electric. We had a much better meal. David looked after us soooo well. Thank you. The crab claws to start are a must and the steak on the 2nd night was the best we ever had. A reservation is a must for the restaurant. The bar is 1st come 1st served but not a patch on the restaurant (same menu & prices!!) Quite pricey but worth the experience...go on treat yourself!! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.