We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volare

Volare
201 E Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3311 (Near North Side)
312-410-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 8,381 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a pork tenderloin and my wife had the scallops off the specials of the night. My wife also had the black spaghetti and we shared some antipasto as well as dessert. The food was very good to excellent, the service was top notch. Peter was our main server and he and his assistants did a great job. Solid meal for the price I would recommend a trip to Volare.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    243
    64
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Risotto to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Food was better than fabulous. I will dream about the risotto for a long time. The staff was very polite and friendly but I will say that the manager did not seem to treat the staff very well. I was in 2 times in a week and both times he seemed rude to the staff and they seemed frustrated. It was never taken out on me, I just happen to be observant. The food was superb and quick, the portions huge! I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just what you'd expect at a neighborhood Italian restaurant! Very friendly staff, excellent food, great wine. What more can you ask for?
I had read the Vodka sauce was terrific and it didn't disappoint. Meatballs could have had a little more flavor, but still, they were enjoyable. Have great memories of this restaurant!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Busy because it served good wholesome food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Large group of twenty, service was fine, waitstaff professional. Got to try many different dishes. Pastas were home made and delicious. Loud and busy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
“Good and reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was good as usual. We had a large group and dinner was perfect. They did rush us out a bit at the end, but it isn't italy it is Chicago.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volare also viewed

 

Been to Volare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.