We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry but nothing special about this place :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
720 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-3820
+1 312-787-7599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Superior and State Street.
Transit: EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sorry but nothing special about this place :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

All I can say it's over rated.Food is ordinary. Very expensive. For a group of 8- no appetizers, just 8 main courses plus 3 desserts. Our bill was $400++. We'll go back to Fleming's instead.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    159
    77
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Celebrated one birthday evening in Chicago at Roy's. Great choice! Enjoyed sitting outside on the patio. Server was excellent, did not rush us, nor too slow. Food was excellent. My daughter and S-I-L had the Surf and Turf, mom had the Trio, and I had the butterfish. All meals were cooked as requested. Good presentation, quantity was as expected, and overall quality was good. We also shared two of their desserts. I appreciate that the two desserts we ordered were made while we were eating vs. being made earlier in the day. Another benefit was their recognition of my birthday with a small dessert and a complimentary picture, both unexpected but pleasant touchpoints. If back in Chicago, I'd consider eating here again due to the seafood being served with accompanying items that are very flavorful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent food, great service. Overall wonderful. Easy reservation via OpenTable. I loved the trio for my entree and the pineapple upside-down cake was delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, IN
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Celebrating my birthday and when we arrived had a table set up with a silver picture frame with a birthday message. The food and service was fantastic. We started off with a coconut shrimp appetizer which was great. I had a passion fruit sangria which was delicious. My entrée was macadamia nut mahi mahi and my husband had the shrimp both of which were delicious. They then surprised me with a birthday desert. We also ordered the warm pineapple upside down cake with coconut ice cream which was delicious. All in all a great evening. They also took our picture and gave it along with the birthday message when we left.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Roy's staff made our anniversary dinner even more special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been fans of Roy's for years and have been to many cities to enjoy the restaurant including Hawaii. Since we were planning a trip to Chicago, we decided to celebrate our anniversary at the Roy's. Well, the food and drinks were great, as usual, but the staff did a few more extras to make the evening special for us. The extras included a welcome letter, and little happy anniversary decorations on the table, a special dessert , and a photo taken and framed for us before we left.
Our meals were beautiful and delicious!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.