We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh ingredients, local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria No. 10

Trattoria No. 10
10 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 984-1718
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria No. 10 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Transit: El Stop: Blue Line - Washington stop Bus line: 22, 24, 36, 62
Description: Classic Italian dishes with a contemporary flair have made Trattoria No.10 a Chicago favorite since 1989. Specialties on the daily menu include unique, homemade ravioli, rustic pastas, freshly prepared risotto, fresh fish selections and grilled filet of beef. The subdued elegance of the interior, with arched walkways, murals and original art provides an intimate atmosphere that is perfect for business lunches, pre-theater dining, romantic dinners or private parties.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients, local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The atmosphere in this restaurant is cozy and quiet. The menu is varied and the food is outstanding, as is the service. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a special, intimate evening and an authentic Italian dinner. We had the pasta coins and scallops. Everything was delicious - high quality, fresh ingredients make the meals very flavourful.

This restaurant is a treat - don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    128
    27
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very high quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

They squeezed us in immediately and without complaint early on a Friday evening even though we did not have a reservation. We're glad they did because our meals and the wine were very good, and the room and service matched. Can't vouch for the whole menu, but the arugula salad, farfalle pasta and the arrabiata pasta were easily worth return visits.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gourmet Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I went to Chicago to see a Broadway show and took the advice of my son to try Trattoria 10. I am glad I listened to him. This was Italian food that easily fit the definition of gourmet, from the pasta to the sauces to the main plates. I don't know that I would ever have thought of putting both scallops and short ribs together, but the pairing, and the sauces that accompanied them, was inspired. I do not believe I have EVER had scallops quite that good. Appetizers were also above average, and the wine list was diverse enough to give you an opportunity to experiment with many different bottles. No doubt I will go back--best Italian dinner since we were in New York.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We dined here on Friday, April 5. The restaurant is lovely. We met friends for dinner before the theater and we really enjoyed everything. The atmosphere, the service, and the food were all top notch!
I ordered the arugula salad to start, followed by the scallops and risotto (outstanding), and the chocolate pecan pie for dessert. The limoncello martini was VERY strong - I would probably choose something else next time.
My son chose the spicy sausage ravioli and really enjoyed it.
I highly recommend this restaurant. Everyone in our group had a good experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We hadn't heard much about this restaurant but tried it out on a night where we had tickets to the theater. From the minute we stepped below street level it felt as though we were in a different world. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly (even steering us away from one wine to a similar but less expensive option that he enjoyed more). The food was excellent - I had the butternut ravioli and the scallops. My husband the spicy ravioli and the peppercorn steak. Finished with a dessert sampler because we just couldn't make up our mind. Great food, great service, no issues getting to the show on time either. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria No. 10 also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria No. 10, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.